The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 05:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
According the the case cited above, no, unless the umpire deems it to be an intentional act to draw the throw. Then runner closest to home called out and runner who drew throw is ejected for unsportsman like conduct.
No intent required in ASA
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 08:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 297
In ASA...

I think the only way you could get an out would be if the runner from 3rd was forced. ASA has a stipulation that if a runner in a force situation retreats for any reason the force would be reinstated. However, this isn't a force situatoin.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 10:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Instead of a dropped third strike, say it was a fly ball to the center field fence that the runner thought wasn't going to be caught? But the ball is caught. If she has crossed home plate [and no subsequent runner followed her there] can't she retrace her steps by touching HP and trying to retreat to 3B before a live ball appeal is made?

She has "scored" and if no appeal was made the run would count. But having scored, and knowing she was way off the base at the time of the catch, she should be able to try to get back to 3B.

Yes?

Ted
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 11:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Instead of a dropped third strike, say it was a fly ball to the center field fence that the runner thought wasn't going to be caught? But the ball is caught. If she has crossed home plate [and no subsequent runner followed her there] can't she retrace her steps by touching HP and trying to retreat to 3B before a live ball appeal is made?

She has "scored" and if no appeal was made the run would count. But having scored, and knowing she was way off the base at the time of the catch, she should be able to try to get back to 3B.

Yes?

Ted
Yes, the runner can retreat to a base left too soon.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 11:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Instead of a dropped third strike, say it was a fly ball to the center field fence that the runner thought wasn't going to be caught? But the ball is caught. If she has crossed home plate [and no subsequent runner followed her there] can't she retrace her steps by touching HP and trying to retreat to 3B before a live ball appeal is made?

She has "scored" and if no appeal was made the run would count. But having scored, and knowing she was way off the base at the time of the catch, she should be able to try to get back to 3B.

Yes?

Ted
Yes, so long as she did not enter dead ball territory, and a following runner did not also score.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 06:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
Yes, so long as she did not enter dead ball territory, and a following runner did not also score.
You did mean or not and, right?
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 08:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
You did mean or not and, right?
Yeah... and and/or or...

One or the other, but both also works...
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
This is a pretty good one. The status of a runner who has scored seems in question - but I dont know that that is the big the question. The big question is the score.

Rule 5.5.1 - A run scores when...

So are there any criteria which would negate that score?

There is no legit appeal being made, so there is no rule negating the run scoring .. ie the score is in the books. The runner could do any number of things, Interfere (were something else going on), get ejected, do a hand stand, beg the umpire not to score the score because they dont want to play extra innings and want to go home, purposely return to 3rd to prevent the score to prevent run rule.

But they cant.

It's in the book. The ruling on the field was essentially correct in my view, with the exception that I dont believe the status of the runner is the big question - the big question is can that runner do anything at that point to unring the scoring bell?

Barring an appeal sitiation, I dont believe they can.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS

Last edited by wadeintothem; Thu Feb 05, 2009 at 09:09am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 04:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
No intent required in ASA
Or anywhere else, as far as I know.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 05:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Cecil, per the NFHS case cited, they say if the runner retracing back to 3rd draws a throw that lets another runner advance, it is not to be ruled interference unless deemed to be intentional by the umpire. In the case study, the base coach thought the runner had missed 3rd and recalled her to the base, drawing a throw from the outfield that allowed the batter to move to 2nd. Since the act of returning to 3rd was not intentional, there is no intererence.

However, per ASA, if a retired runner draws a throw that allows a runner to advance it is interference and closest runner to home is out.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 05:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Cecil, per the NFHS case cited, they say if the runner retracing back to 3rd draws a throw that lets another runner advance, it is not to be ruled interference unless deemed to be intentional by the umpire. In the case study, the base coach thought the runner had missed 3rd and recalled her to the base, drawing a throw from the outfield that allowed the batter to move to 2nd. Since the act of returning to 3rd was not intentional, there is no intererence.

However, per ASA, if a retired runner draws a throw that allows a runner to advance it is interference and closest runner to home is out.
In both the rule book and case book, the sentence about drawing a throw does not say intentionally, although the context of the paragraph supports intentionally and now I agree.
Good catch!
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.

Last edited by CecilOne; Thu Feb 05, 2009 at 05:45pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
home run? Blue19 Baseball 6 Fri Jun 10, 2005 07:10pm
Missed re-touch of a base while retreating... Bluefoot Softball 6 Thu May 27, 2004 04:23pm
Home Run - or was it? WestMichBlue Softball 11 Thu Apr 22, 2004 11:12am
Forced runner retreating Bluefoot Softball 14 Thu Jun 05, 2003 09:50am
retreating toward home David Van Milligen Baseball 5 Wed Nov 29, 2000 09:49am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1