![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Now, suppose I change that scenario a little bit. She did not in fact leave early. (Ball was bobbled in the outfield and nobody but the guys in blue knew the rule.) Are you still going to take the run off the board? ________ WildonGirl Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:41pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
You can flavor that anyway you like it and it still boils down to that.. but if you then go farther with your "what if" and add conceivable umpire errors, UFO's causing panic, malaria induced blindness of the PU, etc - that only muddy's the water. I think the play is interesting because it seems logicially we should hold the runner accountable for obvious DMR (more accurately dumb move coach) - but I dont believe that position can be supported by rule in terms of negating a scored run barring appeal.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS Last edited by wadeintothem; Thu Feb 05, 2009 at 10:26pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
________ WASHINGTON MEDICAL MARIJUANA DISPENSARIES Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:41pm. |
|
|||
I tend to agree with Andy but the wording in the case book is making it a hard sell.
> then--- If the runner that was on third touches home then the coach calls her back to the base with no throw by the defense-- I hope the car is started when you pull the runner off third and add a point to the offensive team. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
Quote:
________ YOUNGSWEETPUSSY4U Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:41pm. |
|
|||
In a) the runner did not score, since she left early / missed 3B, etc. IOW, a baserunning infraction leaves her (and her score) in jeopardy. Since she rectified the basrunning error, she now has to proceed home again to score. The alternate way for her to score here is to not return to 3B and hope the defense does not appeal.
In b) it is just a bit of post-scoring harmless exercise.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
Is still the same. The answer has been stated pretty clearly by different people in different ways under different rule sets in this thread so hopefully its all clear now.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
Quote:
In your scenario above, the runner has not legally scored (yet) since she left third early on a caught fly ball. As Mike said earlier, a runner is always allowed to retreat to correct a baserunning mistake. The runner is subject to appeal up until the next pitch to a batter or the end of the inning. If no appeal is made, the run legally scores when the time for the appeal has passed.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
home run? | Blue19 | Baseball | 6 | Fri Jun 10, 2005 07:10pm |
Missed re-touch of a base while retreating... | Bluefoot | Softball | 6 | Thu May 27, 2004 04:23pm |
Home Run - or was it? | WestMichBlue | Softball | 11 | Thu Apr 22, 2004 11:12am |
Forced runner retreating | Bluefoot | Softball | 14 | Thu Jun 05, 2003 09:50am |
retreating toward home | David Van Milligen | Baseball | 5 | Wed Nov 29, 2000 09:49am |