![]() |
|
|
|||
But, for there to be interference, there has to be a play. If the ball is foul (by definition), there is no play and therefore no intereference...
|
|
|||
Quote:
My INT call is based on the premise ""We have concluded in at least two other topics that the B to BR transition happens even though the batted ball does not end up being a fair batted ball; because it is not foul until the foul ball criteria apply and because it must be for the application of rules to make sense".
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
I can't think of a code in which the OP would not be a foul ball. (Just to be sure, I'm checking with the YSISF commissioner for their interpretation.)
However, ASA does go its own way on certain plays in the same vein. For example, a fielder can throw his glove at and hit a ball that is a few inches on the foul side of the line and apparently going to roll fair, and it's simply a foul ball. Similarly, a runner can deliberately kick such a roller and render it foul. Other codes (black-and-white rule in NCAA softball, interpretation in OBR) have violations on those plays. But I don't think that ASA takes the "future" into account—whether the ball had a chance to become fair or actually becomes fair. In any case, the roller in the OP did not have such a chance.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Also, remember I also postulated "A batted ball in flight or dribbling near the line or wherever else is not foul until it meets one of the foul ball criteria", which has had no discussion.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
On a dribbler near the line I think the thought is that once there is contact you stop the play and rule where the ball is at the moment of contact if it is fair you have INT, if it is foul just a foul ball. Last edited by DaveASA/FED; Mon Dec 01, 2008 at 05:19pm. |
|
|||
Nit picking, but there is no such thing as a batted ball in flight as it pertains to ASA rules. By definition, a ball in flight is a fly ball; A batted ball must land somewhere which means it is no longer in flight.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Whats the call | justcallmeblue | Softball | 28 | Wed Jul 09, 2008 12:50am |
Whats the call? | veg4 | Baseball | 1 | Mon Aug 15, 2005 01:15pm |
whats the call? | wilkey1979 | Basketball | 7 | Wed Feb 25, 2004 09:03am |
Whats the call? | Ricejock | Softball | 2 | Sat Apr 20, 2002 10:24am |
Another ASA whats the call | Gulf Coast Blue | Softball | 3 | Sat Feb 03, 2001 11:29am |