![]() |
|
|||
|
ASA 8.2.F.1
Batter-Runner is out: When the batter-runner interferes with: 1. a fielder attempting to field a batted ball. I think the problem is in that because the batter contacted the ball with the bat, they are a batter-runner. Not entirely true. The definition of a batter-runner is: A player who has completed a turn at bat but has not yet been put out or reached first base. 8.1.A states: The batter becomes a batter-runner: as soon as the batter legally hits a fair ball. Since the ball is not in fair territory, the batter never completed the time at bat, nor did the batter become a batter-runner. Just my $.02.
__________________
Mark NFHS, NCAA, NAFA "If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men" |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Whats the call | justcallmeblue | Softball | 28 | Wed Jul 09, 2008 12:50am |
| Whats the call? | veg4 | Baseball | 1 | Mon Aug 15, 2005 01:15pm |
| whats the call? | wilkey1979 | Basketball | 7 | Wed Feb 25, 2004 09:03am |
| Whats the call? | Ricejock | Softball | 2 | Sat Apr 20, 2002 10:24am |
| Another ASA whats the call | Gulf Coast Blue | Softball | 3 | Sat Feb 03, 2001 11:29am |