The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2008, 03:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
ASA 8.2.F.1
Batter-Runner is out:

When the batter-runner interferes with:
1. a fielder attempting to field a batted ball.


I think the problem is in that because the batter contacted the ball with the bat, they are a batter-runner. Not entirely true. The definition of a batter-runner is: A player who has completed a turn at bat but has not yet been put out or reached first base. 8.1.A states: The batter becomes a batter-runner: as soon as the batter legally hits a fair ball.

Since the ball is not in fair territory, the batter never completed the time at bat, nor did the batter become a batter-runner.

Just my $.02.

How about if the ball was 'on the line' (i.e. in fair territory) at the time of contact between players and then rolled foul? As in the OP, the ball is neither fair nor foul at that moment.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats the call justcallmeblue Softball 28 Wed Jul 09, 2008 12:50am
Whats the call? veg4 Baseball 1 Mon Aug 15, 2005 01:15pm
whats the call? wilkey1979 Basketball 7 Wed Feb 25, 2004 09:03am
Whats the call? Ricejock Softball 2 Sat Apr 20, 2002 10:24am
Another ASA whats the call Gulf Coast Blue Softball 3 Sat Feb 03, 2001 11:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1