The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 22, 2003, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Re: look back, batter/runner rounds 1st & goes toward 2nd

Quote:
Originally posted by chuck chopper
With NO PLAY BEING MADE ON BATTER RUNNER !. ASA 8-7-T-3-B Page 116 of "03" rule book states that if you "ROUND" 1st and move toward 2nd, you CAN STOP, but can't go back to first..you are committed to 2nd....
No, it doesn't.
Quote:
In local league play we get walkers & 3rd stikers constantly "rounding" 1st, stop, and go back. They are OUT.
No, they aren't.

8-7T-3b, c, d, and e concern overrunning.

Here is the rule concerning rounding:
Quote:
ASA 8-7T-3a A batter-runner who rounds first base toward second base may stop, but then must immediately return to first or attempt to advance non-stop to second base.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1