View Single Post
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 22, 2003, 12:20pm
Del-Blue Del-Blue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 190
Red face

With a runner on second, and a walk to the batter, the lookback rule is NOT in effect until the BR reaches first. She is entitled to make a turn, stop, and then go either way without any further stops. If during this time, the runner off second is just standing there when the BR reaches first, at which time the lookback rule is in effect, watching what is going on at first, and the pitcher makes NO play, The runner at second is OUT. In greymule's play, which sorta got off the subject, and now we have two different plays, the runner on first when a walk is issued, goes to second without liability to be put out. Not sure why she is playing around before she gets to second, or why the pitcher thinks she can make a play on her, but she is protected to second.
__________________
Bob
Del-Blue
NCAA, ASA, NFHS
NIF
Reply With Quote