Quote:
Originally posted by chuck chopper
It has been mentioned that once a pitcher has the ball in the circle, during a walk the batter/runner while attempting to go to second MAY reverse her direction if a play is made on her. Is this true ?,
|
No. The runner may stop once and either continue or reverse without the pitcher doing anything at all. IOW, no play is necessary for the runner to stop once & reverse direction. Second, if a play is made the runner (and all other runners) is released altogether from the lookback rule.
Quote:
and what constitutes making a play. Does it require a throw by the pitcher, and if the ball is not in flight yet when the direction change is made THEN WHAT ?
|
ASA POE 33 defines making a play as
any action by the pitcher that, in the umpire's judgment, causes the runner to react. The ball in flight is obviously a "play", but so is a fake throw.
Quote:
I was under the impression that a change in direction wasn't allowed PERIOD !, once the pitcher had the ball in the circle.
|
Not true. As I said above, the runner may stop
once and then must
immediately move in one direction or the other (assuming no play is made).