The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 10, 2006, 11:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tustin, Michigan
Posts: 403
Obstructed Runner

Had a FED game last weekend where a runner was obstructed as she rounded first base heading for second. I called the delayed dead ball obstruction, and then had the defense attempt to thow the girl out at second.

I made the delayed db signal, and verbalized obstruction. If the defense actually throws her out at second, do I call her out first, then award the base, or do I simply award her the base by calling her safe?

Seems pretty akward to do it the first way, but if somebody didn't hear me or see my delayed call, I could get a pretty boisterous argument about the "safe" call.

What's the proper mechanic for this situation?
__________________
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 10, 2006, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
No safe/out call. After the tag at 2B (or when playing action ends, if different), kill the play (call time), and award the base.


You'll prolly get an argument anyway. What coach sees and understands a delayed OBS call in the middle of playing action?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 10, 2006, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,376
Lman is correct. Upon the put out, call time, verbally announce OBS again and any awards that the runner will be getting, whether it is returning to the previous base, awarding the base on which the out occurred, or, if you felt at the time of OBS the runner could have made 3rd had the OBS not occurred, then that is where you would award her.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 10, 2006, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
I call DEAD BALL, not TIME. Same effect.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 10, 2006, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
You only call the runner safe if s/he reaches the base to which s/he was protected.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 17, 2010, 08:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 64
Obstructed runner.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by blueump View Post
Had a FED game last weekend where a runner was obstructed as she rounded first base heading for second. I called the delayed dead ball obstruction, and then had the defense attempt to thow the girl out at second.

I made the delayed db signal, and verbalized obstruction. If the defense actually throws her out at second, do I call her out first, then award the base, or do I simply award her the base by calling her safe?

Seems pretty akward to do it the first way, but if somebody didn't hear me or see my delayed call, I could get a pretty boisterous argument about the "safe" call.

What's the proper mechanic for this situation?
blueump - I can't give you the FED proper mechanics, but two years ago, I had a classic case of 'obstruction' in a girl's ASA SP game: Batter hits one in the gap between LF and LCF. The batter rounds 1st and plows in to the first baseman who is gawking towards the outfield. Here's what I did:
1. I pointed and verbalized "obstruction."
2. I gave the delayed dead ball signal.
3. I picked up the location of the ball (still rolling towards the fence).
4. In my mind, I judged she would have reached "3rd base" had she not been obstructed (now, I'm "old school," I keep the DDB signal up until the runner reaches the base I would have awarded).
5. She comes in to second, the ball comes to an infielder and the plate umpire calls "time."
6. I announce: "I have 'obstruction' on the first baseman. The runner is awarded 3rd base."
Well, the team in the field is losing horribly and the manager comes UNglued. He storms out of the dugout, comes up to me and TRIES to maintain that "(his) fielder was NOT in the runner's way." Sorry. He then tried to "protest" the game on the call. It was not allowed because 'obstruction' is a judgment call. He then proceeded to yell: "Well, you screwed up that call." That got him an ejection. Come to find out, he was not only the manager of the team, BUT THE LEAGUE PRESIDENT AS WELL.
Now, to his credit, he was much better behaved last season, esp during my games.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
View was Obstructed so I called "SAFE" CoachBlue Softball 50 Tue Feb 02, 2010 08:32pm
Runner hit by batted ball, scoring runner, batter wfwbb Baseball 12 Sat Jul 17, 2004 03:12pm
when has a runner passed another runner? Jake80 Baseball 7 Thu May 06, 2004 07:37pm
runner assisting another runner Little Jimmy Softball 4 Fri Aug 01, 2003 12:13pm
runner passing another runner shipwreck Softball 2 Sun Apr 07, 2002 11:12am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1