The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 06, 2002, 07:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
Question

If a runner passes another runner this is a delayed dead ball right? Same thing for a coach physically assisting a runner, right? Say there are 2 outs and bases loaded and a runner passes another runner. Since it is a delayed dead ball you let the play go, right? Do any runs count if they score on this play? That runner passing her would be the third out so I don't think they can but it isn't a force play. Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 06, 2002, 09:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally posted by shipwreck
If a runner passes another runner this is a delayed dead ball right? Same thing for a coach physically assisting a runner, right? Say there are 2 outs and bases loaded and a runner passes another runner. Since it is a delayed dead ball you let the play go, right? Do any runs count if they score on this play? That runner passing her would be the third out so I don't think they can but it isn't a force play. Dave
dave,

See ASA Rule 8 Secion 8 D. Since you did not mention which
runner did passing where, the cited rule will clear it up
for you.

glen
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 07, 2002, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by shipwreck
If a runner passes another runner this is a delayed dead ball right? Same thing for a coach physically assisting a runner, right? Say there are 2 outs and bases loaded and a runner passes another runner. Since it is a delayed dead ball you let the play go, right? Do any runs count if they score on this play? That runner passing her would be the third out so I don't think they can but it isn't a force play. Dave
No, the passing runner is out and the ball remains live. As in your scenario, if it is the third out of the inning, only runners who crossed the plate prior to the "passing" may score.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1