View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 10, 2006, 11:28am
blueump blueump is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tustin, Michigan
Posts: 403
Obstructed Runner

Had a FED game last weekend where a runner was obstructed as she rounded first base heading for second. I called the delayed dead ball obstruction, and then had the defense attempt to thow the girl out at second.

I made the delayed db signal, and verbalized obstruction. If the defense actually throws her out at second, do I call her out first, then award the base, or do I simply award her the base by calling her safe?

Seems pretty akward to do it the first way, but if somebody didn't hear me or see my delayed call, I could get a pretty boisterous argument about the "safe" call.

What's the proper mechanic for this situation?
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!"
Reply With Quote