The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 14, 2019, 10:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 95
3 ft running lane

Could someone explain this nfhs case play?

8.2.5 SITUATION B: R1 is on third, and the batter receives a base on balls. The batter-runner runs to first completely in fair territory (outside of the three-foot running lane) the last half distance to first. The catcher throws the ball to first and the throw strikes the batter-runner. RULING: If the umpire judges that the batter runner interfered with a legitimate play by the catcher, she should be called out.
COMMENT: All bases must be run legally, even awarded bases. (8-2-6; 8-3-11; 8-6-10c).

What kind of legitimate play was the catcher making?
Why was she throwing to first when the batter received a walk (and the runner wasn't even to first base yet?

Thanks?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2019, 09:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbman View Post
Could someone explain this nfhs case play?

8.2.5 SITUATION B: R1 is on third, and the batter receives a base on balls. The batter-runner runs to first completely in fair territory (outside of the three-foot running lane) the last half distance to first. The catcher throws the ball to first and the throw strikes the batter-runner. RULING: If the umpire judges that the batter runner interfered with a legitimate play by the catcher, she should be called out.
COMMENT: All bases must be run legally, even awarded bases. (8-2-6; 8-3-11; 8-6-10c).

What kind of legitimate play was the catcher making?
Why was she throwing to first when the batter received a walk (and the runner wasn't even to first base yet?

Thanks?
Whether we agree with the ruling or not:
- it does not matter why
- could be legitimate to keep the BR from advancing, deceive the other runner, be sure it was really ball 4, ...

Those issues were discussed at length when this ruling first occurred and it basically comes down to a BR is a BR, regardless of why.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2019, 10:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 22
Some teams on offense with a runner at 2nd and ball 4 on BR will turn this into a steal of 2nd base. To try to prevent this the defense will make a throw to 1st, but they have to be aware of the runner at 3rd.

May work, may not.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2019, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 591
Common practice for a catcher I knew (FP men's league) to fire the ball down to F3 (1-2 steps off the bag) to prevent the walk(ing) batter from taking off with runner on 3b.

So, in his case anyway, he wasnt trying to plunk the BR for a cheap out, but a legitimate play to prevent a potential score.

A walked batter who interferes with this will be called out ...

Last edited by jmkupka; Fri Mar 15, 2019 at 12:13pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2019, 06:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,317
I still say its a stupid play to throw to 1st base to try and keep a walked batter from advancing to 2nd with a runner on 3rd. Pretty easy to beat this supposed play, throwing to first never activates the lookback rule so the runner at 3rd can stay off the base as long as they want, and the ball is 40' further away from them than it would be if the pitcher had it. Ya, you may have thrown to F3 at 1st, but if I was the offensive coach I would simply have my walked batter overrun 1st base down the line a little and then make a wide arc toward 2nd base. The lookback rule isn't in force because F3 has the ball, and now F3 has to decide to chase after the batter/runner made a wide turn to 2nd and let the runner on 3rd advance home, throw to 2nd to try and play on the batter/runner advancing and let the runner on 3rd advance home, or simply let the batter/runner advance to 2nd uncontested and keep the runner at 3rd.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2019, 08:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
I still say its a stupid play to throw to 1st base to try and keep a walked batter from advancing to 2nd with a runner on 3rd. Pretty easy to beat this supposed play, throwing to first never activates the lookback rule so the runner at 3rd can stay off the base as long as they want, and the ball is 40' further away from them than it would be if the pitcher had it. Ya, you may have thrown to F3 at 1st, but if I was the offensive coach I would simply have my walked batter overrun 1st base down the line a little and then make a wide arc toward 2nd base. The lookback rule isn't in force because F3 has the ball, and now F3 has to decide to chase after the batter/runner made a wide turn to 2nd and let the runner on 3rd advance home, throw to 2nd to try and play on the batter/runner advancing and let the runner on 3rd advance home, or simply let the batter/runner advance to 2nd uncontested and keep the runner at 3rd.
I saw the throw to first work a couple times in the same game. (The reason one team was part of a top HS program in the state and the other was part of a program that rarely wins any games).

First was a runner on third and on ball 3 they throw down to first. Runner from third takes off home and is nailed at the plate.

Second time was a couple innings later and happened on ball 4. Same result, out at the plate, but that play they also got the out at second when the BR after reaching first tried going to second and was thrown out for the double play. Strangest double play I've seen.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 19, 2019, 02:37pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbman View Post
Could someone explain this nfhs case play?

8.2.5 SITUATION B: R1 is on third, and the batter receives a base on balls. The batter-runner runs to first completely in fair territory (outside of the three-foot running lane) the last half distance to first. The catcher throws the ball to first and the throw strikes the batter-runner. RULING: If the umpire judges that the batter runner interfered with a legitimate play by the catcher, she should be called out.
COMMENT: All bases must be run legally, even awarded bases. (8-2-6; 8-3-11; 8-6-10c).

What kind of legitimate play was the catcher making?
Why was she throwing to first when the batter received a walk (and the runner wasn't even to first base yet?

Thanks?
I think the more telling question is: What the hell was the batter-runner doing running to first base outside the three-foot lane on a walk? Geez, she should be plunked and ruled out just out of stupidity. Why take the chance?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 19, 2019, 04:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Can I just challenge your math?

1st base 60' from home, pitching plate 43' from home, front of circle 35' from home.
Where have you been?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 19, 2019, 04:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,784
Well, I moved about a year ago, and that move and associated chores and tasks took up huge amounts of time.

Then, my good friend who was a college coordinator (I was his backup and administrator/treasurer) relapsed with cancer over the summer, and ultimately passed away. I thought I was busy until then, but adding the coordinating/scheduling, AND administrative tasks with 55 collegiate institutions (along with my high school and rec association) rarely leaves me time to do more than monitor these boards once a month, or so.

Just so happened to have a minute today, and some topics that created an urge to post.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 19, 2019, 04:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 694
Welcome back, Steve.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 19, 2019, 08:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,136
Yes, welcome back Steve!

I've missed your insightful and educational posts.

Hope you'll be able to carve out a little time for this forum.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 19, 2019, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,505
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Can I just challenge your math?

1st base 60' from home, pitching plate 43' from home, front of circle 35' from home.


Agree.

I have always argued that the pitcher should always get the ball since she is the closest to all bases and active runners.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 19, 2019, 10:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Can I just challenge your math?

1st base 60' from home, pitching plate 43' from home, front of circle 35' from home.


Agree.

I have always argued that the pitcher should always get the ball since she is the closest to all bases and active runners.
If the pitcher gets the ball it defeats the purpose of the defense throwing to first base, which is often to draw the offense into trying a delayed steal of home plate.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 21, 2019, 09:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
If the pitcher gets the ball it defeats the purpose of the defense throwing to first base, which is often to draw the offense into trying a delayed steal of home plate.
Not if they know what they are doing
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running lane? roadking Softball 6 Mon Oct 03, 2011 08:15am
running lane timeout Baseball 17 Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:31am
Running lane grimjack5150 Softball 7 Sat May 10, 2008 10:51pm
Running Lane Bandit Softball 5 Fri Feb 01, 2002 06:08pm
Running Lane Bandit Softball 2 Wed Apr 11, 2001 10:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1