The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2011, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 70
running lane

We have a coach here that teaches his players to run inside the running lane on ground balls to the infield. Now, a throw from the F5 (charging in), which F3 has to reach for (up the foul line), causes either a hit runner or a minor collision (with F3's mitt), just before B1 reaches the base. (B1 is/was clearly out of the running lane leading up to the base.
Would we have anything in either fed, obr or mlb?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2011, 09:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Sure. All of them.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2011, 09:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 70
There was talk that the throw had to come from the catcher/plate area.
Please help me understand by clarifing.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2011, 09:31am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,972
Would have to see it, but if B/R is within a step of the base he can exit the running lane to touch the base. However, he's coaching his players to do that hoping that the umpires aren't trained enough to actually call it.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2011, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
Would have to see it, but if B/R is within a step of the base he can exit the running lane to touch the base. However, he's coaching his players to do that hoping that the umpires aren't trained enough to actually call it.
He's not exiting the lane to reach the base. He's out of the lane the whole time.

I am assuming that "inside the running lane" in the OP means out of the lane on the infield side. If that's not the case, I retract everything.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2011, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 70
That is correct. B/R running (just barely on the grass) towards first base. Just as he gets to first, the ball, F3's glove & runners leg (in front base, fair side), all meet at the same time, causing F3 to drop ball.
What ya got?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2011, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by timeout View Post
There was talk that the throw had to come from the catcher/plate area.
Not true per PBUC. No rule support either, actual or implied.

The rule supports the quality throw concept on the thought that you cannot interfere with catching an uncatchable throw.

A runner can exit the lane at the base to touch the base, BUT - if he's out of the lane all the way he's then subject to an interference call.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2011, 08:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,246
Quote:
Originally Posted by timeout View Post
That is correct. B/R running (just barely on the grass) towards first base. Just as he gets to first, the ball, F3's glove & runners leg (in front base, fair side), all meet at the same time, causing F3 to drop ball.
What ya got?
Probably interference on the BR.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Not true per PBUC. No rule support either, actual or implied.

The rule supports the quality throw concept on the thought that you cannot interfere with catching an uncatchable throw.

A runner can exit the lane at the base to touch the base, BUT - if he's out of the lane all the way he's then subject to an interference call.
Agreed, but the practical implication of "quality throw" is nearly identical to "the throw must come from the box." I agree it's not an absolute, but I've never had a quality throw from outside the box hit a runner to cause interference.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2011, 10:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Probably interference on the BR.




Agreed, but the practical implication of "quality throw" is nearly identical to "the throw must come from the box." I agree it's not an absolute, but I've never had a quality throw from outside the box hit a runner to cause interference.
Does it have to be the ball hitting the runer. Can't it be the runner hitting the fielder? The rules say "interferes with the fielder taking the throw".
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2011, 12:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 70
"Agreed, but the practical implication of "quality throw" is nearly identical to "the throw must come from the box." I agree it's not an absolute, but I've never had a quality throw from outside the box hit a runner to cause interference."

So, in Fed, B/R running outside the running lane to first base, a throw from F6, over the F3's head, could result in interference? (In Fed, the throw does have to be a quality one).
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2011, 07:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by timeout View Post
So, in Fed, B/R running outside the running lane to first base, a throw from F6, over the F3's head, could result in interference? (In Fed, the throw does have to be a quality one).
Any time you have a runner, including a batter-runner, you can have interference by the runner. That's not the point of this thread.

This thread concerns running lane interference, which can only be called on a BR, and only when certain conditions are met (different conditions for FED and OBR).

Two kinds of INT, with two sets of criteria of application.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2011, 08:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,246
Quote:
Originally Posted by timeout View Post
"Agreed, but the practical implication of "quality throw" is nearly identical to "the throw must come from the box." I agree it's not an absolute, but I've never had a quality throw from outside the box hit a runner to cause interference."

So, in Fed, B/R running outside the running lane to first base, a throw from F6, over the F3's head, could result in interference? (In Fed, the throw does have to be a quality one).
Doubtful.

In FED, if (a) the BR is out of the running lane, and (b) the BR is "between" the thrower and F3 (or whoever is at first), then a poor throw is presumed to have been caused by the BR and the BR is out.

The requirement in (b) is not met in your play.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2011, 10:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: new jersey
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by timeout View Post
We have a coach here that teaches his players to run inside the running lane on ground balls to the infield. Now, a throw from the F5 (charging in), which F3 has to reach for (up the foul line), causes either a hit runner or a minor collision (with F3's mitt), just before B1 reaches the base. (B1 is/was clearly out of the running lane leading up to the base.
Would we have anything in either fed, obr or mlb?
The coach is teaching his players to cheat--as a ump you see this(runner out of running lane) and if batter-runner hinders F3 from making the play- it is simple- the batter-runner is out.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2011, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiritump View Post
The coach is teaching his players to cheat--as a ump you see this(runner out of running lane) and if batter-runner hinders F3 from making the play- it is simple- the batter-runner is out.
Running outside the lane is not cheating because ther's no rule against running outside the lane.

You can get called for interference if you're outside the lane AND interfere but just being there is not in and of itself illegal.

Any decent catcher from JV on up knows how to find a clear throwing lane. The only time you'll see a problem with older players is when the runner is almost to the base. Otherwise the catcher will find the lane and the throw will be made OK.

A throw from F5 - even from 30' form the plate to a "receiver" that knows how to stretch, shouldn't come close to the runner.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong

Last edited by Rich Ives; Mon Jan 31, 2011 at 10:45pm.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2011, 11:08pm
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Running outside the lane is not cheating because ther's no rule against running outside the lane.

You can get called for interference if you're outside the lane AND interfere but just being there is not in and of itself illegal.

Any decent catcher from JV on up knows how to find a clear throwing lane. The only time you'll see a problem with older players is when the runner is almost to the base. Otherwise the catcher will find the lane and the throw will be made OK.

A throw from F5 - even from 30' form the plate to a "receiver" that knows how to stretch, shouldn't come close to the runner.
....yes, but....the coach is teaching his runners to try to create a bad throw and hope he doesn't get that interference call. On lower levels he may get away with it more often than not. Legal to run there, but.......

JJ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Lane mccann Softball 17 Mon Oct 03, 2016 01:29pm
Running lane grimjack5150 Softball 7 Sat May 10, 2008 10:51pm
The Running Lane tcblue13 Softball 21 Sun Jul 15, 2007 01:46pm
Running Lane jicecone Baseball 7 Wed Jun 26, 2002 11:08pm
Running Lane Bandit Softball 2 Wed Apr 11, 2001 10:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1