The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 01, 2002, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Midwest
Posts: 386
Ok I find the definition to the ASA running lane in Rule 8, sec 2 (2001 book). But I had a fluke play happen to me last weekend I'd like some opinion on, please. 12&Under. Semi-final game of indoor tounament. We are in the bottom of the 8th extra inning, going on close to 3 hours. No outs. Bases loaded. Left handed first baseperson. Right handed batter. Infield drawn in to play the force at home plate. Batter hits a full swing ground ball to the firstbase person who in throwing home hits the batter-runner coming out of the box. Run scores. Game over. Coach asks why runner interference isn't called. Reason given: Batter-runner had not even reached the running lane and has the right to run inside the baseline markings until they reach that point. True? Coaches satisfied. Everyone shakes hands. Was I right or wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 01, 2002, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 733
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
You nailed it right on. If we would call interference when a runner gets hit with a thrown ball(other than when out of the running lane,) we would have fielders acting like they are playing dodge ball and trying to hit runners. Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 01, 2002, 01:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
The running lane has nothing to do with a throw coming from in FRONT of the batter/runner. The interference must be with the first baseperson's ability to catch the throw from BEHIND the B/R.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 01, 2002, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Midwest
Posts: 386
Where ??

Thanks for the replys. Can we document anywhere in the book that it states interference can only come from one direction. If I have a runner up to the running lane area and not running in it, and a first base person playing behind the bag and the same play happens I'm thinking interference. Now granted this is the only area between bases that this would apply.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 01, 2002, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Documenting it....

ASA 8-2-E
BATTER-RUNNER IS OUT When he runs outside the three-foot lane and, in the judgment of the umpire, interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base;...

The more general interference rule for the BR (ASA 8-2-F) requires interference with a thrown ball to be intentional.

In your situation, the 3 foot lane rule does not apply, so unless the BR intentionally tried to get in the way of the throw, there was no interference.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 01, 2002, 06:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Midwest
Posts: 386
Thank You

Thanks that helps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1