View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2019, 09:32am
CecilOne CecilOne is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbman View Post
Could someone explain this nfhs case play?

8.2.5 SITUATION B: R1 is on third, and the batter receives a base on balls. The batter-runner runs to first completely in fair territory (outside of the three-foot running lane) the last half distance to first. The catcher throws the ball to first and the throw strikes the batter-runner. RULING: If the umpire judges that the batter runner interfered with a legitimate play by the catcher, she should be called out.
COMMENT: All bases must be run legally, even awarded bases. (8-2-6; 8-3-11; 8-6-10c).

What kind of legitimate play was the catcher making?
Why was she throwing to first when the batter received a walk (and the runner wasn't even to first base yet?

Thanks?
Whether we agree with the ruling or not:
- it does not matter why
- could be legitimate to keep the BR from advancing, deceive the other runner, be sure it was really ball 4, ...

Those issues were discussed at length when this ruling first occurred and it basically comes down to a BR is a BR, regardless of why.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote