The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2019, 01:46pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,318
Inaccurate Lineup Card Question

At a college game I watched last week, a player came to bat for the visiting team with a runner at third base. She grounded out to F4 with R3 scoring on the play. Then, the offensive coach came out to talk to the PU. The PU then went over to talk with the defensive head coach, and I saw her make a change to her lineup card. The final result of the discussion was that R3 was returned to third base.

Afterward, I heard that the batter who grounded out to F4 was listed in the lineup card with an incorrect number. Instead of "Smith, S, #5", she was listed as "Smith, S, #6". The ruling was because the defense identified it before the next pitch, the offending player is ruled out, and all play resulting from the batted ball is nullified. This is the procedure in NCAA Rule 8.3.2(d)

My question is based upon the Note that is in 8.3.2 that states, "A player's name supersedes a listed uniform number (See Rule 5.7)" Maybe I'm wrong, but as I read that, wouldn't the fact that the name "Smith, S" was the batter who batted, and since the name is correct, the number being incorrect is really irrelevant? I'm just trying to understand the purpose of that Note.

Thoughts?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2019, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
At a college game I watched last week, a player came to bat for the visiting team with a runner at third base. She grounded out to F4 with R3 scoring on the play. Then, the offensive coach came out to talk to the PU. The PU then went over to talk with the defensive head coach, and I saw her make a change to her lineup card. The final result of the discussion was that R3 was returned to third base.

Afterward, I heard that the batter who grounded out to F4 was listed in the lineup card with an incorrect number. Instead of "Smith, S, #5", she was listed as "Smith, S, #6". The ruling was because the defense identified it before the next pitch, the offending player is ruled out, and all play resulting from the batted ball is nullified. This is the procedure in NCAA Rule 8.3.2(d)

My question is based upon the Note that is in 8.3.2 that states, "A player's name supersedes a listed uniform number (See Rule 5.7)" Maybe I'm wrong, but as I read that, wouldn't the fact that the name "Smith, S" was the batter who batted, and since the name is correct, the number being incorrect is really irrelevant? I'm just trying to understand the purpose of that Note.

Thoughts?
First, number is not irrelevant by the rule prior to the note. I think there may be a time that if the number is correct but the name isn't, then you would have BBO/unreported/illegal player as opposed to inaccurate line up card. I think that the stiffer penalty would apply if there was ever a case.

I've had inaccurate LUC with a wrong number, once. Pitcher was number 88 and listed as 8. Visiting team up 5, top of 5, #4 batter strikes out. Offensive coach appeals, yep, nullify the strike 3, fix the LUC. Batter hits the next pitch for 3 run-homer. Home team goes 1/2/3 in bottom of 5th, good night, end of series.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 15, 2019, 12:43pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,318
So I thought about this a little more, and I think I understand the purpose of the Note.

Suppose the line-up card does show "Smith, S. #6" in the fifth spot. S. Smith bats and hits a single. The defensive coach comes out and complains that the player on first base is #5, not #6, that there is no #5 on the line-up card, so the player on first base is an illegal player.

Well, No, S. Smith is not an illegal player. Her number is wrong in the line-up, but her name is correctly listed, so her name supersedes her number.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R2 and lineup card jodibuck Volleyball 4 Wed Oct 01, 2014 07:46pm
Not on lineup card !!!! THREE Softball 16 Wed Sep 02, 2009 03:50pm
Lineup Card Management BlitzkriegBob Softball 15 Mon May 07, 2007 02:27pm
umpire's lineup card newkidonthenet Volleyball 10 Sat Oct 23, 2004 09:36am
lineup card question Little Jimmy Softball 7 Sat Oct 18, 2003 01:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1