View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2019, 04:50pm
Big Slick Big Slick is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
At a college game I watched last week, a player came to bat for the visiting team with a runner at third base. She grounded out to F4 with R3 scoring on the play. Then, the offensive coach came out to talk to the PU. The PU then went over to talk with the defensive head coach, and I saw her make a change to her lineup card. The final result of the discussion was that R3 was returned to third base.

Afterward, I heard that the batter who grounded out to F4 was listed in the lineup card with an incorrect number. Instead of "Smith, S, #5", she was listed as "Smith, S, #6". The ruling was because the defense identified it before the next pitch, the offending player is ruled out, and all play resulting from the batted ball is nullified. This is the procedure in NCAA Rule 8.3.2(d)

My question is based upon the Note that is in 8.3.2 that states, "A player's name supersedes a listed uniform number (See Rule 5.7)" Maybe I'm wrong, but as I read that, wouldn't the fact that the name "Smith, S" was the batter who batted, and since the name is correct, the number being incorrect is really irrelevant? I'm just trying to understand the purpose of that Note.

Thoughts?
First, number is not irrelevant by the rule prior to the note. I think there may be a time that if the number is correct but the name isn't, then you would have BBO/unreported/illegal player as opposed to inaccurate line up card. I think that the stiffer penalty would apply if there was ever a case.

I've had inaccurate LUC with a wrong number, once. Pitcher was number 88 and listed as 8. Visiting team up 5, top of 5, #4 batter strikes out. Offensive coach appeals, yep, nullify the strike 3, fix the LUC. Batter hits the next pitch for 3 run-homer. Home team goes 1/2/3 in bottom of 5th, good night, end of series.
Reply With Quote