The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 01, 2009, 08:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
Not on lineup card !!!!

O.K.! Heres the deal! Bottom of the third inning. Offensive coach request timeout. Coach tells plate umpire that #3, his second baseman is due to bat next.(she has already played defense in top of first and second inning) However, he (the coach) forgot to put her in the lineup. She is not listed anywhere on the lineup. Coach wants to know what to do? (not relevant but #3 is standing at plate with bat in her hands)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 01, 2009, 08:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,168
Unfortunate, but in a sanctioned game, #3 can not be added.
She can be a sub, as a PH for example, if the coach wants here batting right then.
As far as already fielding in all three innings, there was no appeal by the other team, so that stands. However, unless used as a sub, #3 can not field anymore.

Would anyone think the coach was trying to just pick the spot she was needed most to have her at bat?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 01, 2009, 08:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,300
Dont know why the coach didnt list her on the line up card to begin with, but as long as she is a legal player on his roster she can be added to the line up card. 4-1-A2

Defense didnt catch her playing so nothing to do there. Add her to the line up card, make the substitution and play on.

Last edited by RKBUmp; Tue Sep 01, 2009 at 08:16am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 01, 2009, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Dont know why the coach didnt list her on the line up card to begin with, but as long as she is a legal player on his roster she can be added to the line up card. 4-1-A2

Defense didnt catch her playing so nothing to do there. Add her to the line up card, make the substitution and play on.
I didn't think the OP referred to a sub not listed, but someone supposed to be in the actual lineup.

"(already played defense in top of first and second inning) However, he (the coach) forgot to put her in the lineup)"
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 01, 2009, 08:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Were there only 8 players listed in the batting order?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 01, 2009, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by THREE View Post
O.K.! Heres the deal! Bottom of the third inning. Offensive coach request timeout. Coach tells plate umpire that #3, his second baseman is due to bat next.(she has already played defense in top of first and second inning) However, he (the coach) forgot to put her in the lineup. She is not listed anywhere on the lineup. Coach wants to know what to do? (not relevant but #3 is standing at plate with bat in her hands)
So, PU did not check the lineup card very well at the pre-game?
Like Tom asked - there are only 8 defensive players listed?
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 01, 2009, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,663
I echo Steve and Tom.

Why wasn't this caught at the pregame lineup check?

But back to the original question....let's say the lineup only listed eight batters and the PU either didn't check or miscounted or whatever....now what?

I can't see making the offense play shorthanded for something that should have been caught by the PU, but it also doesn't seem right to just insert the player in the lineup and move on...
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 01, 2009, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
I'd let him put the player in the lineup last, but I would not allow him to insert her in the middle. I would not consider that a sub entry, either; just a lineup mistake being corrected. She can't be a sub, since no one is coming out.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 01, 2009, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,462
Hang on folks! You are ready to crucify the PU and we haven't even found out how many names were on the original line up yet.

For as much as we know, this could be a SP game or local rules which demand/allow more than nine batters.

THREE, can you give us more information such as:

Type of game
Special local rules
Number of players on original line-up
Did the umpire check the line-up cards at the pre game

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 01, 2009, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
Type of game----Youth Fastpitch

Special local rules (2 EP's & 1 BB (base bandit)

Number of players on original line-up (as turned in by coach)--11

Did the umpire check the line-up cards at the pregame-yes!
Did he catch that no one was listed for 2nd base? No!
And why does it matter if he did or did not.
Do you have one rule to apply it he checked line-up
and another rule to apply if he didn't check line-up
and then another rule if he checked line-up and didn't catch problem.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 01, 2009, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by THREE View Post
Type of game----Youth Fastpitch

Special local rules (2 EP's & 1 BB (base bandit)

Number of players on original line-up (as turned in by coach)--11

Did the umpire check the line-up cards at the pregame-yes!
Did he catch that no one was listed for 2nd base? No!
And why does it matter if he did or did not.
Do you have one rule to apply it he checked line-up
and another rule to apply if he didn't check line-up
and then another rule if he checked line-up and didn't catch problem.
No, the rules are the same, but if there were only 8 names on the original, the PU really screwed up. Couldn't care less if the umpire didn't notice there was no one assigned to 2B.

I don't see where the umpire is wrong at all. To the OP, the girl sits and was never officially in the game, but is now an available substitute. Then again, I'm playing this by ear.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 01, 2009, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Seems like this is a local rec league by Three's description.

My gut reaction is to add her after the last listed batter and play on. (Completely unsupported by rule reference -- but in the spirit of getting them in the game. If local rules have two EPs and a runner, my interpretation is that they want to get kids on the field.)
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 01, 2009, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by THREE View Post
Type of game----Youth Fastpitch

Special local rules (2 EP's & 1 BB (base bandit)

Number of players on original line-up (as turned in by coach)--11... (removed stuff that doesn't matter...)
If the lineup was complete with 11 players (sounds like it was), then the lineup was official when accepted by the plate umpire. It doesn't matter whether or not he intended to have her in the lineup - he didn't.

She can be entered into the game as a sub. Her prior playing on defense is irrelevant since no one caught it at the time.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 01, 2009, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by argodad View Post
Seems like this is a local rec league by Three's description.
I certainly hope so!!!

Quote:
My gut reaction is to add her after the last listed batter and play on. (Completely unsupported by rule reference -- but in the spirit of getting them in the game. If local rules have two EPs and a runner, my interpretation is that they want to get kids on the field.)
Assuming that the present line up is not already at the limit, right? Now, if the league had a "bat the bench" allowance, sure, knock yourself out.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 02, 2009, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,062
"Base bandit" is a new term for me. I didn't realize I've been so sheltered all this time.

So, what exactly does a base bandit do? Is it someone who can't bat or field but can run like crazy? When can the bandit be employed? For any player at any time? Once a game? Once an inning? For a designated player only, I.E. as courtesy runner for pitcher or catcher?

Thanx.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Substitutes In Lineup Card NEPBASEBALL Baseball 8 Fri Apr 25, 2008 06:44am
Lineup Card Management BlitzkriegBob Softball 15 Mon May 07, 2007 02:27pm
The Lineup Card -- Your Friend? Tim C Baseball 3 Fri Mar 04, 2005 06:54pm
umpire's lineup card newkidonthenet Volleyball 10 Sat Oct 23, 2004 09:36am
lineup card question Little Jimmy Softball 7 Sat Oct 18, 2003 01:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1