The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 07, 2018, 05:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,158
USA test question #43

USA test question #43

An illegal pitch is delivered which hits the batter out of the strike zone, who attempted to avoid.

Batter is awarded 1st base. Why doesn’t the offense coach have an option of the illegal pitch penalty?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 07, 2018, 06:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
USA test question #43

An illegal pitch is delivered which hits the batter out of the strike zone, who attempted to avoid.

Batter is awarded 1st base. Why doesn’t the offense coach have an option of the illegal pitch penalty?
Cuz that's the rule.

6.1.E.2.3
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 08, 2018, 04:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Cuz that's the rule.

6.1.E.2.3
Only in NCAA is the option granted every time. No other ruleset (to my knowledge) does this on DDB penalties.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 08, 2018, 05:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
Only in NCAA is the option granted every time. No other ruleset (to my knowledge) does this on DDB penalties.
As far as I know you are correct.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 08, 2018, 09:07pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,216
Well, this is just another one of those crappily-written test questions that leaves a lot of information out. There is no mention of other runners, so I guess you have to assume there are none.

With that, the batter is awarded first base on the HBP. Since the batter successfully achieved first base safely on the play, the illegal pitch is cancelled.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 09, 2018, 06:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
There is no mention of other runners, so I guess you have to assume there are none.
Runners are mentioned in the responses. Advance runners, don't advance runners, etc.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 09, 2018, 08:00am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Runners are mentioned in the responses. Advance runners, don't advance runners, etc.
Oops; sorry. Read the OP and thought that was the complete question. Also didn't bother to reference the rule book. I will crawl back to the "C" slot and shut up...
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 09, 2018, 09:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,158
If there was a runner on 2nd or 3rd, would 6A.3.N.2 and 6A.1.E.2.2 apply?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 09, 2018, 10:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
If there was a runner on 2nd or 3rd, would 6A.3.N.2 and 6A.1.E.2.2 apply?
Seems like you WANT it to...
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 09, 2018, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Seems like you WANT it to...
I would rule that it does apply, offense option that is.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Test Question Indianaref Basketball 3 Mon Dec 14, 2015 12:51pm
Test question just another ref Basketball 6 Thu Nov 10, 2005 08:24am
Question About the Test ref18 Basketball 17 Tue Oct 25, 2005 07:36am
Jim's Test Question #2 SJoldguy Football 12 Fri Sep 17, 2004 10:37pm
Take a second one-question test Carl Childress Baseball 14 Mon Dec 18, 2000 03:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1