The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   USA test question #43 (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/103751-usa-test-question-43-a.html)

CecilOne Sat Apr 07, 2018 05:17pm

USA test question #43
 
USA test question #43

An illegal pitch is delivered which hits the batter out of the strike zone, who attempted to avoid.

Batter is awarded 1st base. Why doesn’t the offense coach have an option of the illegal pitch penalty?

Tru_in_Blu Sat Apr 07, 2018 06:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 1020539)
USA test question #43

An illegal pitch is delivered which hits the batter out of the strike zone, who attempted to avoid.

Batter is awarded 1st base. Why doesn’t the offense coach have an option of the illegal pitch penalty?

Cuz that's the rule.

6.1.E.2.3

teebob21 Sun Apr 08, 2018 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1020544)
Cuz that's the rule.

6.1.E.2.3

Only in NCAA is the option granted every time. No other ruleset (to my knowledge) does this on DDB penalties.

Skahtboi Sun Apr 08, 2018 05:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 1020564)
Only in NCAA is the option granted every time. No other ruleset (to my knowledge) does this on DDB penalties.

As far as I know you are correct.

Manny A Sun Apr 08, 2018 09:07pm

Well, this is just another one of those crappily-written test questions that leaves a lot of information out. There is no mention of other runners, so I guess you have to assume there are none.

With that, the batter is awarded first base on the HBP. Since the batter successfully achieved first base safely on the play, the illegal pitch is cancelled.

Tru_in_Blu Mon Apr 09, 2018 06:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1020587)
There is no mention of other runners, so I guess you have to assume there are none.

Runners are mentioned in the responses. Advance runners, don't advance runners, etc.

Manny A Mon Apr 09, 2018 08:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1020597)
Runners are mentioned in the responses. Advance runners, don't advance runners, etc.

Oops; sorry. Read the OP and thought that was the complete question. Also didn't bother to reference the rule book. I will crawl back to the "C" slot and shut up... :o

CecilOne Mon Apr 09, 2018 09:50am

If there was a runner on 2nd or 3rd, would 6A.3.N.2 and 6A.1.E.2.2 apply?

Tru_in_Blu Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 1020607)
If there was a runner on 2nd or 3rd, would 6A.3.N.2 and 6A.1.E.2.2 apply?

Seems like you WANT it to...

CecilOne Mon Apr 09, 2018 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1020614)
Seems like you WANT it to...

I would rule that it does apply, offense option that is.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1