![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
The player is no longer entitled to overrun protection as she has attempted to advance to 2B. The runner is out as a live-ball appeal for the missed base if they tagged her before the retouch of 1B, out as an overslide if off the bag. 8-7-H, 8-7-B The current ASA rule book is a bit ambiguous whether "slides beyond or loses contact with a base" requires a slide. My oldest still-all-in-one piece book is 2005 and back then there was overslide protection. No longer relevant except to point out that the old wording referred specifically to sliding. There is no use of the word overslide (that I can find) in the rest of the book. If this is not an overrun under 8-8-I, then OK, this could be an overslide out under 8-7-B. I am still curious how we can adjudge the batter-runner overrunning 1B without a touch as spelled out in 8-8-I, though. Per the other comment that 8-8-I doesn't define overrunning, that's the rule that the index sends me to when I lookup Overrunning First Base. Also RS#37.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." Last edited by teebob21; Tue Jul 12, 2016 at 05:02pm. Reason: 8-8-I |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Out then safe then out... | MatthewPV | Baseball | 13 | Mon Jun 14, 2010 10:23pm |
Safe | SRW | Softball | 25 | Fri Oct 24, 2008 10:03pm |
PU - Out. BU - Safe. | Rich | Baseball | 3 | Thu Jun 19, 2008 07:43am |
OBS - Always safe? | cshs81 | Baseball | 5 | Thu Jun 28, 2007 07:42am |
Safe or out | kab9 | Softball | 12 | Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:56am |