The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 21, 2006, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Safe or out

This occurred in a men's SP softball game. Runner is going into third sliding. He realizes he is going in way too hard and grabs the base to hang on. His momentum causes the base to come dislodged and both he and the base end up in foul territory. He actually beat the throw, but the 3rd baseman kept his glove (with the ball) on the runner the whole time. In my opinion, he intentionally pulled the base off because he knew he was going to overslide it. HP umpire (it was his call) ruled him safe. It's been eating at me because I would have called him out. Had he not dislodged the base and held it going into foul territory, he would have been out. To avoid conflict with the HP umpire, I just kept quiet, but I'm really curious what the correct call should be. Every time you think you've seen it all somethig new comes up. Thanks.

I must not have been clear in describing the play. I am certain that the runner INTENTIONALLY pulled the bag off when he realized he was going to overslide the base. It did not accidentally come dislodged. He hung on to it and pulled it off. Maybe he is still safe regardless, but had he NOT pulled it off and overslid the bag while the 3rd baseman had a glove on him, he would have been out. He basically extended 3rd base into foul territory. Not trying to seem airheaded, but with it being obviously intentional, I wondered what the rulilng should be.

Last edited by kab9; Mon Aug 21, 2006 at 01:47pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 21, 2006, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Grabbing the base deliberately is not the same as removing it.
Runners beating the tag/ball to a base that is dislodged are considered safe.
Offense, neat or not, is the purpose of SP, so safe.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 21, 2006, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
What was his infraction? Excessive speed on a slide?

Speaking ASA, a dislodged base is considered to have followed the runner (whether he hangs onto it or not). He was safe.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 21, 2006, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,376
I echo what the previous posters have stated!
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 21, 2006, 03:39pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
8-8-N

"Runner is not out ...when the runner slides into a base and dislodges it from its proper position. The base is considered to have followed the runner."

No inclusion of the word "unintentionally" in this rule, so runner is safe.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 25, 2006, 07:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 336
I guess Im not good enough to know FOR CERTAIN what a players INTENT is, especially in that 1-2 sec time of sliding, grabbing the base to not overslide, ect....Gotta work harder, I guess...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 25, 2006, 07:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by kab9
I must not have been clear in describing the play. I am certain that the runner INTENTIONALLY pulled the bag off when he realized he was going to overslide the base. It did not accidentally come dislodged. He hung on to it and pulled it off. Maybe he is still safe regardless, but had he NOT pulled it off and overslid the bag while the 3rd baseman had a glove on him, he would have been out. He basically extended 3rd base into foul territory. Not trying to seem airheaded, but with it being obviously intentional, I wondered what the rulilng should be.

How did you determine that he INTENTIONALLY pulled the base off?

He was sliding but managed to INTENTIONALLY pull the bag off as he passed it? Now that's funny, I've heard something new today.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 26, 2006, 06:44pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by archangel
I guess Im not good enough to know FOR CERTAIN what a players INTENT is, especially in that 1-2 sec time of sliding, grabbing the base to not overslide, ect....Gotta work harder, I guess...
Intent does not matter. Refer to my previous post.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 26, 2006, 10:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
Having set hundreds of bases, and removed them, it's next to impossible to intentionally pull out a base when sliding. you have to be standing, or at least kneeling, to get the leverage. Unless they're break-aways. Then they come up without effort.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 26, 2006, 10:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 487
The bases strapped to pins in the ground move easily without being dislodged.
IOW it is still attached to the pins but pulled to an almost upright position or twisted as far as a full base width out of position.
__________________
TCBLUE13
NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA

Softball in the Bible
"In the big-inning"

Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 28, 2006, 03:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Intent does not matter. Refer to my previous post.
Hawk, my post was SARCASM !!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 28, 2006, 04:53pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Gotcha. My bad.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 29, 2006, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 50
I agree the runner is safe.

This kinda reminds me of a play I had about three years ago in Mens FP.

R1 slides safely into third on close tag. Third baseman moves away and R1 loses contact with base but his front leg is over the base with his foot touching the ground in foul territory. Third baseman see's this and reapplies the tag. I call OUT!

Manager says that he is safe because he is in the vicinity of the base.

Funny.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Out or safe? JRSooner Baseball 5 Sat Mar 27, 2004 11:24am
Hit by ball out or safe TyroneThunder Baseball 1 Mon Jun 16, 2003 01:00pm
safe/out...again! chuckfan1 Baseball 4 Mon Dec 16, 2002 06:14pm
Safe or Out? HawkandDove3B Softball 7 Tue Jul 30, 2002 10:48pm
Out or Safe? Huskerblue Baseball 15 Wed Jun 05, 2002 03:34pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1