![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
The BR legally avoided a tag at ~7 sec point of the video, and overran and missed the base at ~ 8 sec point, and returned to touch the base before being tagged (assuming this was a legal live ball appeal) at ~9 sec. At this point, the BR has overrun the base and returned to touch the base. Everything after that is just a runner losing contact with the base and being tagged, twice, actually. The first tag was at ~9.5 on the foot; the second was at ~14 sec on the right leg. Suppose there was no play being made, and a batter-runner made a little circle around 1B, reached down and touched the bag from the right field side, and then stepped back and just stood there, slowly shuffling toward the base. Would you consider the runner to be protected as a BR who has overrun 1B? I think the answer to that is, essentially, where you and I would disagree. I see the overrun as his first time past the bag; you see this as a circuitous route to the bag where the touch is the first time past the bag.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
Under ASA, 8-8-I says the runner is not out if he overruns first base after touching it. It is clear he does not touch it. I am interested in any other rule citations that say we should judge this an overrun. It could change my entire perspective on this play.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." Last edited by teebob21; Tue Jul 12, 2016 at 02:48pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
I doubt you will find a rule to clarify things, since I don't believe "overrun" is defined in the book. I'm just basing it on "did the runner pass the base or not"? If the runner passed the base, he must have either overrun or rounded. If circling around the base by a few feet and coming back at it from the other side is not passing the base, how long of a circle around does it have to be before is does become passing the base? BTW, it does seem like the MLB umpire agrees with your judgment on this... ![]()
__________________
Tom Last edited by Dakota; Tue Jul 12, 2016 at 03:41pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Here's another one. Runner rounds first and misses the bag on the way. She gets to second coach yells at her to hustle back. She runs back to first and doesn't hold the bag and is tagged out. Are you saying that's an overrun? If not why not? Going just one further though, speaking just softball and not baseball this video is at best an overslide not an overrun and there is no oversliding first exception in ASA as there is in OBR. |
|
|||
Quote:
The player is no longer entitled to overrun protection as she has attempted to advance to 2B. The runner is out as a live-ball appeal for the missed base if they tagged her before the retouch of 1B, out as an overslide if off the bag. 8-7-H, 8-7-B The current ASA rule book is a bit ambiguous whether "slides beyond or loses contact with a base" requires a slide. My oldest still-all-in-one piece book is 2005 and back then there was overslide protection. No longer relevant except to point out that the old wording referred specifically to sliding. There is no use of the word overslide (that I can find) in the rest of the book. If this is not an overrun under 8-8-I, then OK, this could be an overslide out under 8-7-B. I am still curious how we can adjudge the batter-runner overrunning 1B without a touch as spelled out in 8-8-I, though. Per the other comment that 8-8-I doesn't define overrunning, that's the rule that the index sends me to when I lookup Overrunning First Base. Also RS#37.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." Last edited by teebob21; Tue Jul 12, 2016 at 05:02pm. Reason: 8-8-I |
|
|||
Speaking ASA
To start, I would question it not being out of base path, but no one is going to have an angle to sell that. BR passed and missed the base. Appeal available. F3 obviously pursuing that play. Runner safely returns. Unfortunately, while the ball is live voluntarily leaves the base and is legally tagged out.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
So in this case you agree the batter runner has reached first base and overrun it. So if she doesn't go toward second and instead returns to first and overruns it what do you have?
|
|
|||
Doesn't make any difference. As the rule requires, the runner already returned directly to the base. IMJ, after that, the runner leaves the base at his own risk.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
That was my point, this was part of trying to convince TeeBob that you only get one overrun and it's your first time past whether you get the bag or not.
|
|
|||
But she didn't attempt to advance to second after touching first and 8-8-I gives protection regardless of whether there was an earlier attempt to advance to second.
|
|
|||
consensus
I like to find a consensus in topics, especially one like this with divergent comments on multiple tangents.
It looks like the consensus is that the BR actually does overrun 1st during his pivot, is safe with his hand touch, is out with the foot tag. Also, consensus seems to be no attempt at 2nd; and for purpose of this discussion, ignored the 3 feet off path possibility.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
BTW, a great example if the inconsistency of rules and terms (not to mention interpretations), both within and between books.
![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Out then safe then out... | MatthewPV | Baseball | 13 | Mon Jun 14, 2010 10:23pm |
Safe | SRW | Softball | 25 | Fri Oct 24, 2008 10:03pm |
PU - Out. BU - Safe. | Rich | Baseball | 3 | Thu Jun 19, 2008 07:43am |
OBS - Always safe? | cshs81 | Baseball | 5 | Thu Jun 28, 2007 07:42am |
Safe or out | kab9 | Softball | 12 | Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:56am |