The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2016, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Still confirming:

6) Tie Breaker Rule - ASA or any
The book (5.11.B) says that if the runner to be placed on 2nd is the "out player" in a shorthanded situation, do not call an out but use the preceding player in the order.
That means the inning still starts with an out; as the "out player" is then the leadoff spot. The wording could mislead some.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.

Last edited by CecilOne; Wed Jul 06, 2016 at 10:10am.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2016, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Still confirming:

6) Tie Breaker Rule - ASA or any
The book (5.11.B) says that if the runner to be placed on 2nd is the "out player" in a shorthanded situation, do not call an out but use the preceding player in the order.
That means the inning still starts with an out; as the "out player" is then the leadoff spot. The wording could mislead some.
If the leadoff batter happens to be the missing player, yes the inning would start with an out, but not if the missing player was the one to be placed at 2nd base. The rule is simply clarifying that if the tie breaker starts with the missing player being the one that is suppose to be placed on 2nd it is not an out, simply move to the preceeding player on the lineup and place them at 2nd.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2016, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Still confirming:

6) Tie Breaker Rule - ASA or any
The book (5.11.B) says that if the runner to be placed on 2nd is the "out player" in a shorthanded situation, do not call an out but use the preceding player in the order.
That means the inning still starts with an out; as the "out player" is then the leadoff spot. The wording could mislead some.
Thinking thru your version, the missing spot would generate two outs; the last of the prior inning, plus the first of the new inning. That isn't the intent of this rule.

If the missing spot generates the third out in the prior inning, the following spot is leading off the tiebreaker inning. The runner is the preceding batter that is in the game, not to fail to have a runner.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2016, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post

F3 on white; does not have ball: Obstruction.
F3 on orange; does not have ball. Obstruction.
F3 on white; has ball: Out.
F3 on orange; has ball: ???? Nothing? Safe, yes, but anything else?
I just indicate like any other "off the bag" play...
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2016, 04:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
My turn to be "anal". If impeded or hindered or
Given that the poster said the players collided ... I think "impeded or hindered" is a given.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2016, 07:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Still confirming:

6) Tie Breaker Rule - ASA or any
The book (5.11.B) says that if the runner to be placed on 2nd is the "out player" in a shorthanded situation, do not call an out but use the preceding player in the order.
That means the inning still starts with an out; as the "out player" is then the leadoff spot. The wording could mislead some.
I disagree, the wording is, IMO, quite straight forward and concise. You are making presumptions that are not stated or indicated in any manner in 5.11
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 07, 2016, 07:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Thinking thru your version, the missing spot would generate two outs; the last of the prior inning, plus the first of the new inning. That isn't the intent of this rule.

If the missing spot generates the third out in the prior inning, the following spot is leading off the tiebreaker inning. The runner is the preceding batter that is in the game, not to fail to have a runner.
My post was about when the shorthand out did not happen in the previous inning, should have clarified.
My point was to confirm that in the case of the "out player" starting an inning; the preceding player in the order goes to 2nd; which make the "out player" lead off the inning with an out. The words "do not call an out" can mislead some.


Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
If the missing spot generates the third out in the prior inning, the following spot is leading off the tiebreaker inning. The runner is the preceding batter that is in the game, not to fail to have a runner.
The wording seems intended for that situation and is clear for it.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 07, 2016, 07:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Given that the poster said the players collided ... I think "impeded or hindered" is a given.
Of course. That post was more about needling someone; but also because that is a rule often quoted incompletely.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
few misc questions mutantducky Basketball 14 Wed Aug 26, 2009 02:53pm
A couple of misc. questions mjbofficial Basketball 8 Fri Feb 02, 2007 06:04pm
Studying for Promotion Test - Confirm Answer golfdesigner Basketball 4 Sat Dec 02, 2006 10:30pm
misc questions MdSooner Baseball 7 Fri Jul 15, 2005 12:59pm
NF misc. on conferences. Mike Simonds Football 2 Sat Aug 30, 2003 09:36am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1