Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
Still confirming:
6) Tie Breaker Rule - ASA or any
The book (5.11.B) says that if the runner to be placed on 2nd is the "out player" in a shorthanded situation, do not call an out but use the preceding player in the order.
That means the inning still starts with an out; as the "out player" is then the leadoff spot. The wording could mislead some.
|
If the leadoff batter happens to be the missing player, yes the inning would start with an out, but not if the missing player was the one to be placed at 2nd base. The rule is simply clarifying that if the tie breaker starts with the missing player being the one that is suppose to be placed on 2nd it is not an out, simply move to the preceeding player on the lineup and place them at 2nd.