View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2016, 10:38am
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Still confirming:

6) Tie Breaker Rule - ASA or any
The book (5.11.B) says that if the runner to be placed on 2nd is the "out player" in a shorthanded situation, do not call an out but use the preceding player in the order.
That means the inning still starts with an out; as the "out player" is then the leadoff spot. The wording could mislead some.
Thinking thru your version, the missing spot would generate two outs; the last of the prior inning, plus the first of the new inning. That isn't the intent of this rule.

If the missing spot generates the third out in the prior inning, the following spot is leading off the tiebreaker inning. The runner is the preceding batter that is in the game, not to fail to have a runner.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote