The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Please confirm - misc (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/101433-please-confirm-misc.html)

CecilOne Mon Jun 13, 2016 02:24pm

Please confirm - misc
 
Please confirm, or note any rule set which is otherwise:

1) Batted ball hits BR in batter box, then again out of box. Immediate dead ball on first hit.

2) ASA rules require avoidance effort by batter if HBP. Others (NHFS, PONY, USSSA) do not if completely in batters box.

3) Interference by runner passing fielder does not require contact.

4) Fielder at 1st must touch “white” base for putout of BR, regardless of why a BR.

youngump Mon Jun 13, 2016 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 988415)
Please confirm, or note any rule set which is otherwise:

4) Fielder at 1st must touch “white” base for putout of BR, regardless of why a BR.

Unless the play takes the fielder into foul territory. And that's about any play where they touch the orange (why else would they do it?).

Dakota Mon Jun 13, 2016 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 988415)
...4) Fielder at 1st must touch “white” base for putout of BR, regardless of why a BR.

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 988417)
Unless the play takes the fielder into foul territory. And that's about any play where they touch the orange (why else would they do it?).

Or, throw comes from foul territory (e.g. D3K).

Dakota Mon Jun 13, 2016 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 988415)
3) Interference by runner passing fielder does not require contact.

Correct, but a timid fielder does not necessarily "draw" an interference call, either.

CecilOne Mon Jun 13, 2016 05:25pm

Yes, I should have mentioned the foul side. :o

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jun 13, 2016 05:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 988429)
Yes, I should have mentioned the foul side. :o

Foul side of the 1b line :)

CecilOne Mon Jun 13, 2016 07:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 988432)
Foul side of the 1b line :)

Sorry, Mr. Anal. :D

BretMan Mon Jun 13, 2016 08:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 988432)
Foul side of the 1b line :)

Had this come up in a game once! D3K, catcher makes throw from foul ground, but it was from the third base foul side. F3 set up on the orange bag.

Throw beat runner, I called safe, coach argued it was a legal play. He actually filed a protest over this...and lost.

So it is a valid distinction!

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jun 13, 2016 09:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BretMan (Post 988436)
Had this come up in a game once! D3K, catcher makes throw from foul ground, but it was from the third base foul side. F3 set up on the orange bag.

Throw beat runner, I called safe, coach argued it was a legal play. He actually filed a protest over this...and lost.

So it is a valid distinction!

This was a very serious question when the double base and the parameters first hit the scene

teebob21 Tue Jun 14, 2016 03:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 988417)
Unless the play takes the fielder into foul territory. And that's about any play where they touch the orange (why else would they do it?).

The term the book uses is an errant throw (ASA). In that case, both the defense and offense may use either portion of the double base. Should the offense use the "wrong" base on a quality throw, the defense may appeal, provided the runner has not yet returned to the base.

If the defense uses the "wrong" base, is it obstruction?

In the cases where both teams may use both sides, if there is a NON-malicious crash at the base due to the possible confusion of the players, do we rule OBS or nothing?

youngump Tue Jun 14, 2016 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 988469)
If the defense uses the "wrong" base, is it obstruction?

This is the easy one. Being on or off the base has nothing to do with obstruction. Having the ball does. If F3 has the ball she can set on either bag and not be guilty of obstruction and if she doesn't, then she's guilty of obstruction regardless of which base she is on (if she impedes the runner).

CecilOne Thu Jun 16, 2016 02:43pm

I'm actually a little surprised my other 3 items were clear enough and sufficiently literal (anal); as I am often too cryptic as I was on #4. :)

teebob21 Thu Jun 16, 2016 06:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 988471)
This is the easy one. Being on or off the base has nothing to do with obstruction. Having the ball does. If F3 has the ball she can set on either bag and not be guilty of obstruction and if she doesn't, then she's guilty of obstruction regardless of which base she is on (if she impedes the runner).

Ok, not to hijack another of Cecil's threads, but indulge me here. This also feeds into my Part Two from the post above.

Routine infield grounder thrown to 1B. F3 sets up on either bag, and either does or does not yet have the ball. There is non-malicious contact at 1B as the BR touches the orange base. This gives us 4 scenarios.

F3 on white; does not have ball: Obstruction.
F3 on orange; does not have ball. Obstruction.
F3 on white; has ball: Out.
F3 on orange; has ball: ???? Nothing? Safe, yes, but anything else?

CecilOne Thu Jun 16, 2016 07:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 988532)
Ok, not to hijack another of Cecil's threads,

It is titled "misc"

CecilOne Thu Jun 16, 2016 07:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 988532)
F3 on white; does not have ball: Obstruction.
F3 on orange; does not have ball. Obstruction.

My turn to be "anal". If impeded or hindered or :confused:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1