![]() |
|
|
|||
Fed: shifts involving potential snapper
This comes out of a discussion on a coaching Web site.
The ball is ready for play by snap, and A1, facing forward, has a hand behind his line of scrimmage and near the ball but not touching it. (No other player of A is touching the ball either.) 5 other players of A are some distance away to the left of him facing forward behind their line of scrimmage with their heads breaking the plane of A1's waist and one or both hands on or near the ground. 1 other player of A is similarly positioned to the right of A1. Then A1 and the aforementioned players from his left shift to their right to form a balanced line around A2, who as part of the shift puts his hand on the ball and faces forward. Was this a false start? Does A1 get treated as a snapper as long as he looks like he might be the snapper, and are players of A determined to be on the line on that basis? Or is there no such thing in Fed as position on A's line until a player of A has a hand on the ball? |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
With that said, I don't see how there would be much of any advantage to Team A/K making formation shifts like this... and why would you want to put your team in a position of making an official use his judgement as to what constitutes a false start under A, B, or C above. |
|
|||
Quote:
Restrictions for encroachment begin when the snapper places his hands on the ball. (7-1-6) Restrictions for false starts begin with the ready for play whistle is blown. (7-1-7)
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
You may be interested in how the discussion has gone there --
CoachHuey.com . The position I'd taken is the same as jTheUmp's above, based on the fact that nobody is officially on team A's line until there's a snapper, and there's no snapper until someone's hand is on the ball. There can be false starts even without a player's being on team A's line, of course, but the specific restriction regarding interior OL with a hand on or near the ground is relevant only to players whose heads break the plane of the snapper's waist. Two people at Huey's say common sense dictates considering players of A to be on the line based on one of them being near the ball even though not touching it. |
|
|||
If the shift was a sudden movement that simulates action at the snap or anyone not obviously a back or end was a in 3-point stance and shifted then you could have a false start. A team could initially set with 3 on the line and shift into a formation with 7 on the line and there would be no issue.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
||||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
A rise in offensive shifts designed to make the defense encroach. | BigBaldGuy | Football | 20 | Tue Oct 09, 2012 05:27pm |
Another lawsuit involving bats | NCASAUmp | Softball | 25 | Tue May 22, 2012 11:25am |
Shifts | newref1 | Football | 13 | Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:26pm |
Shifts,Motions and Illegal touching | U52 | Football | 7 | Tue Sep 23, 2008 09:46pm |
Snapper Protection | don16954 | Football | 7 | Mon Nov 12, 2001 01:09pm |