Quote:
Originally Posted by Forksref
On a pass play, A73 holds prior to a change of possession. The pass is intercepted. During the return, B42 blocks in the back and A12 has a 5 yd face mask foul on the tackle. Using the clean hands principle, Team B declines the holding penalty on A. For the other 2 fouls during the run back, do those fouls offset or are they each enforced (in the order in which they occurred)?
|
CANADIAN RULING:
The facemask is a major foul so put it in your back pocket and add it to whatever happens before that.
B can choose to accept the hold which gives A the ball back, but back 15 yards and repeat the down.
If B declines the hold to keep the ball, they'll get the ball at Point Ball Held at the time of the Block From the Rear.