The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2008, 12:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 207
Two fouls on one play

The other night in a varsity girls game (FED) one of our players was called for a personal foul and an intentional foul on the same play. Yes, the official said that the two fouls were for the same act. Is this possible?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2008, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,274
I cant see how... not in any of my games
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2008, 01:17pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,918
Hint Please ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by harmbu
The other night in a varsity girls game (FED) one of our players was called for a personal foul and an intentional foul on the same play. Yes, the official said that the two fouls were for the same act. Is this possible?
I'm with Kelvin green, but, please give us a hint. Was the intentional foul personal, or technical, in other words was it during a live ball, or a dead ball?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 24, 2008, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 412
Send a message via MSN to crazy voyager
I think it is, if you have a personal foul first and it is then followed by a completly seperate foul shortly thereafter and the second foul is either tecnical, unsportmanlike or disqualifying then you would report both fouls and punish both...
But to for example have two diffrent fouls on a single shot motion (wich is how I interpet your post) sounds very unlikley, but not impossible
__________________
All posts I do refers to FIBA rules
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 24, 2008, 10:29am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by harmbu
The other night in a varsity girls game (FED) one of our players was called for a personal foul and an intentional foul on the same play. Yes, the official said that the two fouls were for the same act. Is this possible?
No. I can't imagine a case where it is possible. Not in Fed or FIBA, imho.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 24, 2008, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
No. I can't imagine a case where it is possible. Not in Fed or FIBA, imho.
Nothing in FIBA rules prevents an official to call two fouls on the same play. Crazy Voyager has already explained a case and I agree completely. In normal plays it can happen that, for example, a shooter is fouled by two opponents almost simultaneously: I'd suggest to penalize the first foul, considering the second one incidental and caused by the other. Of course, if the second foul is not unsportsmanlike.

Such cases happen: a player is fouled and continues the shooting movement; another opponent fouls the shooter after the official's whistle, clearly to prevent a basket. I'd say foul and unsportsmanlike foul (intentional in Fed): four shots and the ball. Probably it won't happen any more in the game.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 24, 2008, 12:23pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by eg-italy
Nothing in FIBA rules prevents an official to call two fouls on the same play. Crazy Voyager has already explained a case and I agree completely. In normal plays it can happen that, for example, a shooter is fouled by two opponents almost simultaneously: I'd suggest to penalize the first foul, considering the second one incidental and caused by the other. Of course, if the second foul is not unsportsmanlike.

Such cases happen: a player is fouled and continues the shooting movement; another opponent fouls the shooter after the official's whistle, clearly to prevent a basket. I'd say foul and unsportsmanlike foul (intentional in Fed): four shots and the ball. Probably it won't happen any more in the game.
Your answer isn't relevant to the play being discussed. The original post said that the two foul calls were made for the same act, not for two different and separate acts.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 24, 2008, 01:24pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by eg-italy
Nothing in FIBA rules prevents an official to call two fouls on the same play. Crazy Voyager has already explained a case and I agree completely. In normal plays it can happen that, for example, a shooter is fouled by two opponents almost simultaneously: I'd suggest to penalize the first foul, considering the second one incidental and caused by the other. Of course, if the second foul is not unsportsmanlike.

Such cases happen: a player is fouled and continues the shooting movement; another opponent fouls the shooter after the official's whistle, clearly to prevent a basket. I'd say foul and unsportsmanlike foul (intentional in Fed): four shots and the ball. Probably it won't happen any more in the game.
Please read the OP again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by harmbu
Yes, the official said that the two fouls were for the same act.
An act is something like B1 slapping the forearm of A1. If B1 and B2 both foul A1, then you have two acts.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 24, 2008, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Your answer isn't relevant to the play being discussed. The original post said that the two foul calls were made for the same act, not for two different and separate acts.
I was assuming that the OP meant "the same play"; I can't see how to penalize twice the same act: this is impossible under any rule set.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Fouls on Scoring Play FredFan7 Football 30 Thu Jul 26, 2007 05:41pm
2 fouls on scrimmage kick play Forksref Football 13 Mon Jul 23, 2007 01:00pm
Fouls on a Scoring Play FredFan7 Football 3 Tue Jan 04, 2005 02:46pm
Double Fouls on Post Play Blackhawk357 Basketball 18 Wed Mar 19, 2003 05:08pm
When are technical fouls added to team fouls!? Pirate Basketball 8 Thu Jan 18, 2001 10:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1