View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 21, 2012, 08:25pm
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forksref View Post
On a pass play, A73 holds prior to a change of possession. The pass is intercepted. During the return, B42 blocks in the back and A12 has a 5 yd face mask foul on the tackle. Using the clean hands principle, Team B declines the holding penalty on A. For the other 2 fouls during the run back, do those fouls offset or are they each enforced (in the order in which they occurred)?
CANADIAN RULING:

The facemask is a major foul so put it in your back pocket and add it to whatever happens before that.

B can choose to accept the hold which gives A the ball back, but back 15 yards and repeat the down.

If B declines the hold to keep the ball, they'll get the ball at Point Ball Held at the time of the Block From the Rear.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote