![]() |
|
|||
That isn't exactly true but many actions which would be pass interference during a normal down wouldn't be a foul because of the punt formation. The NCAA also has a similar rule.
Whenever a team presents an apparent punting formation, defensive acts that normally constitute pass interference are permitted against the end man on the line of scrimmage, or against an eligible receiver behind the line of scrimmage who is aligned or in motion more than one yard outside the end man on the line, provided that the acts do not constitute illegal holding. Defensive holding, such as tackling a receiver, still can be called and result in a five-yard penalty from the previous spot, if accepted. Offensive pass interference rules still apply. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NFHS punt to pass question | voiceoflg | Football | 4 | Thu Nov 05, 2009 10:50pm |
Incomplete pass following muffed punt? | breynolds | Football | 9 | Fri Nov 30, 2007 09:00pm |
Blocked punt recovered, pass thrown! | w_sohl | Football | 0 | Tue Sep 27, 2005 07:59am |
Does pass interferance really apply? | kbarnett | Football | 9 | Fri Oct 29, 2004 05:18pm |
interferance | jumpmaster | Baseball | 3 | Thu Apr 18, 2002 01:01pm |