That isn't exactly true but many actions which would be pass interference during a normal down wouldn't be a foul because of the punt formation. The NCAA also has a similar rule.
Whenever a team presents an apparent punting formation, defensive acts that normally constitute pass
interference are permitted against the end man on the line of scrimmage, or against an eligible receiver
behind the line of scrimmage who is aligned or in motion more than one yard outside the end man on the
line, provided that the acts do not constitute illegal holding. Defensive holding, such as tackling a receiver,
still can be called and result in a five-yard penalty from the previous spot, if accepted. Offensive pass
interference rules still apply.
|