The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2010, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
In Texas (NCAA) this should have been shut down as an illegal snap. There's a pretty good chance there was some verbiage by the coach and QB that would have turned this into an unsportsmanlike foul had the snap been legal. Since the snap didn't leave the snappers hands immediately this is a dead ball foul.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2010, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 225
Case book says ACTIONS or verbiage designed to confuse the defense into thinking there is a problem and the snap is not immenent is illegal.

To me, the act of the QB throwing his arms up, acting like there is a problem or confusion, would qualify, therefore I'm shutting this down and we'll have a UC on the coach.

Not to mention the legality of the "snap".
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2010, 04:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
Quote:
It must be backwards ADN leave the snapper's hand IMMEDIATELY.
There's no requirement that it leave the snapper's hand immediately (or you are unclear as to what you mean by that).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2010, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie View Post
There's no requirement that it leave the snapper's hand immediately (or you are unclear as to what you mean by that).
NFHS uses the verbiage "immediately leave the hands of the snapper."

NCAA requires the snap to be quick and continuous motions with the ball "actually leaving the hand or hands in this motion."

So the question under NCAA rules is: did the motion stop before the ball left the hand of the snapper?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2010, 08:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 63
do they only have 6 on the los? Would you count the WR on the right (top) on the line? he's nearly 2 yards behind the los.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2010, 08:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
This play was shown ad nauseam on SportsCenter tonight (Monday) as well as on the MNF pre-game show.

Nobody pointed out that it's illegal.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2010, 09:44pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
While hypothetical.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
This play was shown ad nauseam on SportsCenter tonight (Monday) as well as on the MNF pre-game show.
As I was watching this "ad nauseum", I constantly thought, what would happen if a LB or safety absolutely cleaned this kids clock. I mean, the kid is so defenseless (good acting), but, how would mom and dad, coach, teammates, etc, react if this kid gets hammered? Legally. Not too funny then..... hypothetical of course.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 06:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 59
What amazes me is the people that will still argue with me when I tell them

#1 - the definition of a legal snap. I think that the legality of the snap can be argued in this play.
#2 - To me what can't be argued is the case book scenario:
Quote:
from the NFHS casebook - 9.9.1 SITUATION B: From a field goal formation, potential kicker A1 yells,
“Where’s the tee?” A2 replies, “I’ll go get it” and goes legally in motion toward
his team’s sideline. Ball is snapped to A1 who throws a touchdown pass to A2.

RULING: Unsportsmanlike conduct prior to snap. The ball should be declared
dead and the foul enforced as a dead-ball foul.

COMMENT: Football has been and
always will be a game of deception and trickery involving multiple shifts, unusual
formations and creative plays. However, actions or verbiage designed to confuse
the defense into believing there is problem and a snap isn’t imminent is
beyond the scope of sportsmanship and is illegal.
But because is it on the news and they say it is legal, then it HAS to be legal
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2010, 08:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie View Post
There's no requirement that it leave the snapper's hand immediately (or you are unclear as to what you mean by that).
'

Under NFHS rules, the ball must leave the snapper's hand immediately.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
'

Under NFHS rules, the ball must leave the snapper's hand immediately.
It actually kinda does in NCAA too, it just does not use the word "immediately". What it does say is it must move from the ground in a quick and continous motion of the hand, the ball actually leaving the hand in this motion.
So, I'd like TA to explain exactly how you have a quick and continuous motion and the ball leaving the hand in that motion unless it fairly immediately leaves the hand. If he keeps the ball in his hand, it's not a quick and continous motion now is it? Sounds like it needs to leave the hands pretty immediately.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 01:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike L View Post
It actually kinda does in NCAA too, it just does not use the word "immediately". What it does say is it must move from the ground in a quick and continous motion of the hand, the ball actually leaving the hand in this motion.
So, I'd like TA to explain exactly how you have a quick and continuous motion and the ball leaving the hand in that motion unless it fairly immediately leaves the hand. If he keeps the ball in his hand, it's not a quick and continous motion now is it? Sounds like it needs to leave the hands pretty immediately.
But it did leave his hands as "immediately" as it probably would have had he snapped it between his legs. That wasn't the failing. Rather, it's that the motion wasn't quick.

So let's take that off the table and imagine a case that would be controversial. No relevant verbal signals prior, and then:

QB to C: "Doofus, never mind the signal, just hand me the ball."

C to QB: "Like this?"

Snapper hands ball to QB as shown on video, but faster.

QB to C: "Yeah, just like that. Now watch as I walk it upfield."

QB walks ball to end zone.

Treat it as Fed rules. You let it go or not? It doesn't shout out, "Snap is not imminent." However, it works only by team B's not considering the ball to have been snapped.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2010, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: West Bend, WI
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChickenOfNC View Post
Case book says ACTIONS or verbiage designed to confuse the defense into thinking there is a problem and the snap is not immenent is illegal.

To me, the act of the QB throwing his arms up, acting like there is a problem or confusion, would qualify, therefore I'm shutting this down and we'll have a UC on the coach.

Not to mention the legality of the "snap".
Exactly.
__________________
"Assumption is the mother of all screw-ups...."
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2010, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonTX View Post
In Texas (NCAA) this should have been shut down as an illegal snap. There's a pretty good chance there was some verbiage by the coach and QB that would have turned this into an unsportsmanlike foul had the snap been legal. Since the snap didn't leave the snappers hands immediately this is a dead ball foul.
Actually, there's an excellent chance of verbiage making this illegal. Saw the interview on CNN with the coach. The play involves drawing a defensive encroachment, followed by the coach shouting in that the officials did not mark off the penalty correctly and the QB should just do it and the QB responding.
Sorry coach, you've just committed an unsportsmanlike act. Try again.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Only in Middle School Ball DTQ_Blue Softball 4 Sun May 24, 2009 12:09am
Middle School Game ajs8207 Basketball 16 Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:58pm
Middle School season refnrev Volleyball 8 Sun Jan 28, 2007 05:06pm
Only in Middle School Stat-Man Basketball 24 Thu Sep 29, 2005 11:51pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1