The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 14, 2010, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The yard lines IN THE FIELD OF PLAY are numbered and (some of them) marked. It doesn't follow that the end zone has no yard lines, just that they will not be marked or numbered.

Indeed, given the first sentence of this rule, I would say that there MUST be yard lines in the end zone, since there are vertical planes in the end zone that are parallel to the end lines.
As opposed to the NCAA definition of yard lines, which makes specific reference to the field of play.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 14, 2010, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
As opposed to the NCAA definition of yard lines, which makes specific reference to the field of play.
True, but the definition of yard lines is irrelevant to the discussion in NCAA, as no mention of yard lines exists in the NCAA rule regarding forward handing.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 14, 2010, 10:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
True, but the definition of yard lines is irrelevant to the discussion in NCAA, as no mention of yard lines exists in the NCAA rule regarding forward handing.
But isn't the fact that the people at Fed are cognizant of yet omitted that detail that exists in NCAA, evidence that the definition in Fed is meant to include the end zones?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 15, 2010, 09:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
But isn't the fact that the people at Fed are cognizant of yet omitted that detail that exists in NCAA, evidence that the definition in Fed is meant to include the end zones?
Nope
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
Gentlemen,

I'm a new poster to this forum, however have been following it for a while and have learned a lot. One question about the subject ruling, specifically the asserted answer of C. How can we have a SAFETY for A when it was A's PASS that was the force that put the ball into B's End Zone. It is clear from the articulation of the Situation that B got the ball with "Clean Hands" in their end zone and that the ball did not leave the end zone before the ball was forward handed to a fellow team mate (resulting in a foul by B after the COP (by Rule 7-3-2 & 7-3-3). Where in the rules (pls reference) does the force of the ball become dismissed and not a factor when involving the opponent's end zone that would support the ruling of a Safety for A ??? If the ball had become dead in B's end zone would we not have a Touchback (Rule 8-5-3-D) with the Basic Spot being the succeeding spot under Rule 10-4-5-D ? Does B's penalty in their end zone trump/supersede the force that put the ball there ??? I'm at a loss here.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 01:08pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
You are right that B did not put the ball in the end-zone, however take a look at 10-5-4.

ART. 4 . . . If the offensive team throws an illegal forward pass from its end
zone or commits any other foul for which the penalty is accepted and measurement
is from on or behind its goal line, it is a safety.

Since the offensive team (B since they are in possession at the time) threw an illegal forward pass from the end zone, the penalty results in a safety.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Since the offensive team (B since they are in possession at the time) threw an illegal forward pass from the end zone, the penalty results in a safety.
I thought it was forward handing.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 17, 2010, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 183
Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by vtbackjudge View Post
Gentlemen,

I'm a new poster to this forum, however have been following it for a while and have learned a lot. One question about the subject ruling, specifically the asserted answer of C. How can we have a SAFETY for A when it was A's PASS that was the force that put the ball into B's End Zone. It is clear from the articulation of the Situation that B got the ball with "Clean Hands" in their end zone and that the ball did not leave the end zone before the ball was forward handed to a fellow team mate (resulting in a foul by B after the COP (by Rule 7-3-2 & 7-3-3). Where in the rules (pls reference) does the force of the ball become dismissed and not a factor when involving the opponent's end zone that would support the ruling of a Safety for A ??? If the ball had become dead in B's end zone would we not have a Touchback (Rule 8-5-3-D) with the Basic Spot being the succeeding spot under Rule 10-4-5-D ? Does B's penalty in their end zone trump/supersede the force that put the ball there ??? I'm at a loss here.
Interestingly enough, in Canada we do not award a safety for this. We let the "punishment fit the crime." If Team B intercepts the ball in the end zone and then commits a foul in the end zone (with the ball in the EZ), we award the ball to B on the 20 yard line just as if they were tackled in the end zone.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 19, 2010, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by vtbackjudge View Post
Gentlemen,

I'm a new poster to this forum, however have been following it for a while and have learned a lot. One question about the subject ruling, specifically the asserted answer of C. How can we have a SAFETY for A when it was A's PASS that was the force that put the ball into B's End Zone. It is clear from the articulation of the Situation that B got the ball with "Clean Hands" in their end zone and that the ball did not leave the end zone before the ball was forward handed to a fellow team mate (resulting in a foul by B after the COP (by Rule 7-3-2 & 7-3-3). Where in the rules (pls reference) does the force of the ball become dismissed and not a factor when involving the opponent's end zone that would support the ruling of a Safety for A ??? If the ball had become dead in B's end zone would we not have a Touchback (Rule 8-5-3-D) with the Basic Spot being the succeeding spot under Rule 10-4-5-D ? Does B's penalty in their end zone trump/supersede the force that put the ball there ??? I'm at a loss here.
VT,
don't overcomplicate it. It's simple penalty enforcement rules.
A's pass put the ball into the enzone & B caught it. If they run it back all the way, if they run it back out to some yard line, if the play ends in touchback, the Basic Spot becomes where the run ends except for the touchback, which by rule moves the BS to the 20 yard line.
So, now you consider the foul. Team B is in possession, with clean hands, and has fouled behind the Basic Spot. Where do you enforce it from? It's running play enforcement so.....spot of the foul due to the all-but-one prin. The spot is in B's endzone...and what is the result of having to enforce a penalty from their endzone? Safety.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 27, 2010, 11:12am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by vtbackjudge View Post
Gentlemen,

I'm a new poster to this forum, however have been following it for a while and have learned a lot. One question about the subject ruling, specifically the asserted answer of C. How can we have a SAFETY for A when it was A's PASS that was the force that put the ball into B's End Zone. It is clear from the articulation of the Situation that B got the ball with "Clean Hands" in their end zone and that the ball did not leave the end zone before the ball was forward handed to a fellow team mate (resulting in a foul by B after the COP (by Rule 7-3-2 & 7-3-3). Where in the rules (pls reference) does the force of the ball become dismissed and not a factor when involving the opponent's end zone that would support the ruling of a Safety for A ??? If the ball had become dead in B's end zone would we not have a Touchback (Rule 8-5-3-D) with the Basic Spot being the succeeding spot under Rule 10-4-5-D ? Does B's penalty in their end zone trump/supersede the force that put the ball there ??? I'm at a loss here.
Which is why you probably like the Canadian ruling better: a touchback (though we don't call it a touchback).

While there is a rules reference as to why it is 2 points for A in US codes, the Cdn approach is always about HOW the ball entered the EZ; INT or fumble recovery gives a TB.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 27, 2010, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
Which is why you probably like the Canadian ruling better: a touchback (though we don't call it a touchback).

While there is a rules reference as to why it is 2 points for A in US codes, the Cdn approach is always about HOW the ball entered the EZ; INT or fumble recovery gives a TB.
Is the ball dead at that point in Canada? I would have thought you'd still enforce the foul (with the 20 as spot of enforcement) if it were not.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 22, 2010, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Watertown, SD
Posts: 56
Send a message via Skype™ to jemiller
Interesting question. I hope that I would view where the foul occurred and enforce from the basic spot. Thus I would have a safety. Jim
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 08, 2010, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 146
I don' know, guys - I'm having a hard time with yard lines in the endzone. If they are there, what would they be used for? It seems to me the endzone is just that - a big zone at the END of the playing field.

However, if A1 drops back into endzone after the snap and pitches/passes forward to an elibible receiver/back still in the endzone, I would rule that incomplete because the pass was forward.

Based on that, I have to rule illegal forward handing.

Last edited by BroKen62; Sun Aug 08, 2010 at 03:34pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How would you pick this nit? SC Ump Softball 10 Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:40pm
If you could pick.... Snake~eyes Basketball 20 Sat Jul 09, 2005 09:01am
3rd to 1st pick off wpiced Baseball 8 Wed May 05, 2004 01:12pm
Pick off to second Newbie Scott Baseball 1 Wed Apr 28, 2004 01:53pm
Pick through this One. whiskers_ump Softball 7 Thu Apr 17, 2003 11:38am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1