The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 13, 2010, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 150
Ok,,, hang onto your hats. What if I think the correct answer is B??

NFHS rules....

Take a look at 2-19-2 for the definition of forward handing. Make a note of the fact that it talks about YARD LINES.

Then, go take a look at 2-26-7 and you'll see that YARD LINE actually has a definition too. And their aint no yard lines in the promised land that we call the END ZONE.

So, what I'm basically saying is this....can we have illegal forward handing in the end zone? I'm saying no.

Someone might make reference to rule 7-3-3.... and I still go back to the definition of forward handing.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 13, 2010, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
Ha...ha-ha-ha. Yeah, right...go with that ruling. "Forward handing is ok in the end zone after a change in possession because there's no yard lines in the end zone."
Couldn't wait to see the review by any observer after that.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 13, 2010, 03:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike L View Post
Ha...ha-ha-ha. Yeah, right...go with that ruling. "Forward handing is ok in the end zone after a change in possession because there's no yard lines in the end zone."
Couldn't wait to see the review by any observer after that.
Hey Mike,,, if you want to disagree with me, thats cool. But at least do it with some sort of rule reference that backs up your claim.

I'll admit that this is a stretch. But this board has been DEAD. I'd like to see some threads started with some interesting plays or ideas. This is what I dreamed up to try and get that started.

But I'm very comfortable with my knowledge of the rules, I can promise you that.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 13, 2010, 05:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMooreReferee View Post
Hey Mike,,, if you want to disagree with me, thats cool. But at least do it with some sort of rule reference that backs up your claim.

I'll admit that this is a stretch. But this board has been DEAD. I'd like to see some threads started with some interesting plays or ideas. This is what I dreamed up to try and get that started.

But I'm very comfortable with my knowledge of the rules, I can promise you that.
What you're trying to advocate here is not a stretch. It's just wrong. And if you want to try to hang your hat on forward handing is ok in the end zone because there's no yard lines there, then that's an interesting way to feel comfortable.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 14, 2010, 09:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike L View Post
What you're trying to advocate here is not a stretch. It's just wrong. And if you want to try to hang your hat on forward handing is ok in the end zone because there's no yard lines there, then that's an interesting way to feel comfortable.
I don't think he's hanging his hat on this so much as looking for a rules justification to disallow answer B. I believe MByron has done just that.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 13, 2010, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMooreReferee View Post
Then, go take a look at 2-26-7 and you'll see that YARD LINE actually has a definition too. And their aint no yard lines in the promised land that we call the END ZONE.
Nope. Here's 2-26-7:
"ART. 7 . . . A yard line is any line and its vertical plane parallel to the end lines.
The yard lines, marked or unmarked, in the field of play are numbered in yards
from a team’s own goal line to the middle of the field."

The yard lines IN THE FIELD OF PLAY are numbered and (some of them) marked. It doesn't follow that the end zone has no yard lines, just that they will not be marked or numbered.

Indeed, given the first sentence of this rule, I would say that there MUST be yard lines in the end zone, since there are vertical planes in the end zone that are parallel to the end lines.

So forward handing IS defined in the end zone, and still a foul.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 14, 2010, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The yard lines IN THE FIELD OF PLAY are numbered and (some of them) marked. It doesn't follow that the end zone has no yard lines, just that they will not be marked or numbered.

Indeed, given the first sentence of this rule, I would say that there MUST be yard lines in the end zone, since there are vertical planes in the end zone that are parallel to the end lines.
As opposed to the NCAA definition of yard lines, which makes specific reference to the field of play.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 14, 2010, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
As opposed to the NCAA definition of yard lines, which makes specific reference to the field of play.
True, but the definition of yard lines is irrelevant to the discussion in NCAA, as no mention of yard lines exists in the NCAA rule regarding forward handing.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 14, 2010, 10:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
True, but the definition of yard lines is irrelevant to the discussion in NCAA, as no mention of yard lines exists in the NCAA rule regarding forward handing.
But isn't the fact that the people at Fed are cognizant of yet omitted that detail that exists in NCAA, evidence that the definition in Fed is meant to include the end zones?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 15, 2010, 09:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
But isn't the fact that the people at Fed are cognizant of yet omitted that detail that exists in NCAA, evidence that the definition in Fed is meant to include the end zones?
Nope
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
Gentlemen,

I'm a new poster to this forum, however have been following it for a while and have learned a lot. One question about the subject ruling, specifically the asserted answer of C. How can we have a SAFETY for A when it was A's PASS that was the force that put the ball into B's End Zone. It is clear from the articulation of the Situation that B got the ball with "Clean Hands" in their end zone and that the ball did not leave the end zone before the ball was forward handed to a fellow team mate (resulting in a foul by B after the COP (by Rule 7-3-2 & 7-3-3). Where in the rules (pls reference) does the force of the ball become dismissed and not a factor when involving the opponent's end zone that would support the ruling of a Safety for A ??? If the ball had become dead in B's end zone would we not have a Touchback (Rule 8-5-3-D) with the Basic Spot being the succeeding spot under Rule 10-4-5-D ? Does B's penalty in their end zone trump/supersede the force that put the ball there ??? I'm at a loss here.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 22, 2010, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Watertown, SD
Posts: 56
Send a message via Skype™ to jemiller
Interesting question. I hope that I would view where the foul occurred and enforce from the basic spot. Thus I would have a safety. Jim
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 08, 2010, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 146
I don' know, guys - I'm having a hard time with yard lines in the endzone. If they are there, what would they be used for? It seems to me the endzone is just that - a big zone at the END of the playing field.

However, if A1 drops back into endzone after the snap and pitches/passes forward to an elibible receiver/back still in the endzone, I would rule that incomplete because the pass was forward.

Based on that, I have to rule illegal forward handing.

Last edited by BroKen62; Sun Aug 08, 2010 at 03:34pm.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2010, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
[QUOTE=mbyron;685318]Nope. Here's 2-26-7:
"ART. 7 . . . A yard line is any line and its vertical plane parallel to the end lines. The yard lines, marked or unmarked, in the field of play are numbered in yards from a team’s own goal line to the middle of the field."

I'm without my rule book as I post but above is a quote of Art 7 from the first page. if it is correct then it also says "from a team's own goal line..." which would exclude the end zone. So the point made in that post is invalid by definition as I see it.

Further (wish I had my rulebook with me), I am not convinced basic spot enforcement applies against B, in B's endzone, when A is responsible for putting the ball there. On the fly as R I am giving B the ball at the 20 then penalizing them 5 so 1st and 10 from the 15...until convinced otherwise.

Anybody have a casebook example one way or the other...always willing to learn but when in doubt fairness gets the nod and 1st and ten at the 15 is the fairest enforcement.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2010, 03:30pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitehat View Post
Further (wish I had my rulebook with me), I am not convinced basic spot enforcement applies against B, in B's endzone, when A is responsible for putting the ball there. On the fly as R I am giving B the ball at the 20 then penalizing them 5 so 1st and 10 from the 15...until convinced otherwise.
You are correct, the basic spot would be the 20 yard line. But, this is a foul committed by the offense behind the basic spot, the "one" in the "all but one" principle. Ergo, the penalty is enforced from the spot of the foul.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How would you pick this nit? SC Ump Softball 10 Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:40pm
If you could pick.... Snake~eyes Basketball 20 Sat Jul 09, 2005 09:01am
3rd to 1st pick off wpiced Baseball 8 Wed May 05, 2004 01:12pm
Pick off to second Newbie Scott Baseball 1 Wed Apr 28, 2004 01:53pm
Pick through this One. whiskers_ump Softball 7 Thu Apr 17, 2003 11:38am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1