![]() |
|
|
|||
LOL,,, why do say that? What makes you think an arguement is about to take place? This place is all about learning and trying to get better..LOL
|
|
|||
C. And not only will you not get an argument, you'll get the coach on that side not even cheering the 100 yard run as he'll have already seen your flag fly high in the endzone... and coaches know what a flag in the endzone usually means.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
A USC is likely forthcoming...except maybe if you're in Texas.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Ok,,, hang onto your hats. What if I think the correct answer is B??
NFHS rules.... Take a look at 2-19-2 for the definition of forward handing. Make a note of the fact that it talks about YARD LINES. Then, go take a look at 2-26-7 and you'll see that YARD LINE actually has a definition too. And their aint no yard lines in the promised land that we call the END ZONE. So, what I'm basically saying is this....can we have illegal forward handing in the end zone? I'm saying no. Someone might make reference to rule 7-3-3.... and I still go back to the definition of forward handing. |
|
|||
Ha...ha-ha-ha. Yeah, right...go with that ruling. "Forward handing is ok in the end zone after a change in possession because there's no yard lines in the end zone."
Couldn't wait to see the review by any observer after that.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem |
|
|||
Quote:
I'll admit that this is a stretch. But this board has been DEAD. I'd like to see some threads started with some interesting plays or ideas. This is what I dreamed up to try and get that started. But I'm very comfortable with my knowledge of the rules, I can promise you that. |
|
|||
Quote:
"ART. 7 . . . A yard line is any line and its vertical plane parallel to the end lines. The yard lines, marked or unmarked, in the field of play are numbered in yards from a team’s own goal line to the middle of the field." The yard lines IN THE FIELD OF PLAY are numbered and (some of them) marked. It doesn't follow that the end zone has no yard lines, just that they will not be marked or numbered. Indeed, given the first sentence of this rule, I would say that there MUST be yard lines in the end zone, since there are vertical planes in the end zone that are parallel to the end lines. So forward handing IS defined in the end zone, and still a foul.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
[QUOTE=mbyron;685318]Nope. Here's 2-26-7:
"ART. 7 . . . A yard line is any line and its vertical plane parallel to the end lines. The yard lines, marked or unmarked, in the field of play are numbered in yards from a team’s own goal line to the middle of the field." I'm without my rule book as I post but above is a quote of Art 7 from the first page. if it is correct then it also says "from a team's own goal line..." which would exclude the end zone. So the point made in that post is invalid by definition as I see it. Further (wish I had my rulebook with me), I am not convinced basic spot enforcement applies against B, in B's endzone, when A is responsible for putting the ball there. On the fly as R I am giving B the ball at the 20 then penalizing them 5 so 1st and 10 from the 15...until convinced otherwise. Anybody have a casebook example one way or the other...always willing to learn but when in doubt fairness gets the nod and 1st and ten at the 15 is the fairest enforcement. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I pity the R who just sprinted 100 yards, jogged back 100 yards while the BJ just stood there and watched is flag.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! Last edited by waltjp; Mon Jul 19, 2010 at 07:01pm. |
|
|||
If the BJ did that, he didn't continue to officiate the play as he was supposed to so after you catch your breath (maybe the following Tuesday), beat that BJ to a pulp for quitting on the play.
|
|
|||
If Offense and Defense didn't change, and A and B didn't change, why would there be any need for both separate designations ... and why would Offense and Defense be omitted from the 4th section of that definition?
It very clearly is telling you that the offense is the team with the ball ... and that this changes when possession changes, while A, B, K, and R do not change regardless of what happens to possession.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
How would you pick this nit? | SC Ump | Softball | 10 | Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:40pm |
If you could pick.... | Snake~eyes | Basketball | 20 | Sat Jul 09, 2005 09:01am |
3rd to 1st pick off | wpiced | Baseball | 8 | Wed May 05, 2004 01:12pm |
Pick off to second | Newbie Scott | Baseball | 1 | Wed Apr 28, 2004 01:53pm |
Pick through this One. | whiskers_ump | Softball | 7 | Thu Apr 17, 2003 11:38am |