The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 17, 2010, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by bisonlj View Post
You just need to be careful the ball is not caught beyond the NZ. Another possible issue (although I've heard some officials let it go based on their own philosophy) is the ball goes off the hands of the receiver (who is behind the NZ) and the ball lands beyond the NZ. Thus it is a forward pass that crosses the neutral zone and you have eligible receivers blocking. Same thing applies to ineligible receivers downfield.
But does not PI restrictions end for all eligible A's once A touches a legal forward pass?
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 17, 2010, 06:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike L View Post
But does not PI restrictions end for all eligible A's once A touches a legal forward pass?
For NCAA they end when any inbounds player touches the pass (or if touched by an officials).

For NFHS, after any of these three conditions:
a. A players, when B touches a legal forward pass.
b. Eligible A players when A touches a legal forward pass. Ineligible A
players may not touch the pass, but can use hands or arms in a legal block to ward off an opponent.

c. B players when a legal forward pass has been touched by A or B.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 18, 2010, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike L View Post
But does not PI restrictions end for all eligible A's once A touches a legal forward pass?
Yes, but the blocks down field were taking place before the ball was touched by A. If they didn't occur until after the ball was touched, you have nothing regardless of whether the pass ends behind or beyond the NZ.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 18, 2010, 12:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by bisonlj View Post
Yes, but the blocks down field were taking place before the ball was touched by A. If they didn't occur until after the ball was touched, you have nothing regardless of whether the pass ends behind or beyond the NZ.
If the blocks took place downfield, which is not at all clear in the op. Most screens do not involve early blocks downfield but rather at or near the line. And the block would have to be substantially beyond the line to deserve a call on this sort of play.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
offensive pass interference MRD Football 2 Sun Oct 12, 2008 08:24am
Offensive Pass Interference Reffing Rev. Football 17 Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:10pm
Offensive Pass Interference on 4th Down Simbio Football 21 Sat Oct 27, 2007 09:31am
Offensive Pass Interference BuggBob Football 24 Thu Oct 18, 2007 10:48pm
4th &1 offensive pass interference timharris Football 11 Thu Nov 04, 2004 12:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1