The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 26, 2009, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
But if K accepts the penalty, the first touch goes away per your own rule cite. There is now an accepted penalty for a foul during the down.
I have yet to see anyone cite a casebook or Reddings example that talks about a kick, R-foul, K-touch, R-fumble, K-in possession at the end play.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem

Last edited by Mike L; Wed Aug 26, 2009 at 11:27am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 26, 2009, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike L View Post
But if K accepts the penalty, the first touch goes away per your own rule cite.
I don't think that's correct. Here's the relevant sentence:
"The right of R to take the ball at spot of first
touching by K is canceled if R touches the kick and thereafter during the down
commits a foul or if the penalty is accepted for any foul committed during the down."
What exactly is canceled: the right of R to the ball, or the right of R to take the ball at the spot of first touching? I would argue that it's the latter: a PSK penalty will be marched off from the spot of first touching, and R keeps the ball.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 26, 2009, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I don't think that's correct. Here's the relevant sentence:
"The right of R to take the ball at spot of first
touching by K is canceled if R touches the kick and thereafter during the down
commits a foul or if the penalty is accepted for any foul committed during the down."
What exactly is canceled: the right of R to the ball, or the right of R to take the ball at the spot of first touching? I would argue that it's the latter: a PSK penalty will be marched off from the spot of first touching, and R keeps the ball.
Why would a PSK foul be marched off from the spot of first touching? That is not necessarily either the spot of the foul or the end of the kick. And does this interp also mean a foul by K will be enforced from the first touch spot as well? I'm confused.

Here's the way I read the rule:
The right of R to take the ball at spot of 1st touch is cancelled if:
1) R touches the kick and thereafter during the down commits a foul or
2) the penalty is accepted for any foul committed during the down.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem

Last edited by Mike L; Wed Aug 26, 2009 at 02:54pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 26, 2009, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 63
The best way the I can put it is anytime a foul (is accepted) it trumps a first touching.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 26, 2009, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
Which is supported by the 2008 Football Fundamentals (don't have my 2009 books here).

IV. Kicks - General

7. First touching of a kick by K is always ignored if the penalty is accepted for a foul during the down.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem

Last edited by Mike L; Wed Aug 26, 2009 at 03:44pm. Reason: because spelling counts
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 27, 2009, 08:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike L View Post
Why would a PSK foul be marched off from the spot of first touching?
Good point. That's not what I meant: a PSK foul, if accepted, will prevent R from putting the ball in play at the spot of first touching. That means they will not have the right to put the ball in play from there.

Once K is guilty of first touching, R will put the ball in play next no matter what happens during the return (muff, fumble, etc.). That's pretty straightforward.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 27, 2009, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Once K is guilty of first touching, R will put the ball in play next no matter what happens during the return (muff, fumble, etc.). That's pretty straightforward.
Not true. If R fouls after the touch or if there is an accepted penalty for a foul during the down, the touch goes away. You can't enforce the touch, and then proceed to something that would make the touch go away. In the OP, K accepting the penalty for R's foul makes the touch go away. You now have K next to put the ball in play due to the fumble recovery, so PSK goes away. So, in the end you have a previous spot enforcement. Of course K could decline the penalty and give the ball to R at the spot of first touching, but why would they?
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 27, 2009, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 31
Guys,

This play has been around for a couple of years. The confusion is a consequence of a rule change. Compare the 2008 and 2007 rule books. In 2007, PSK also included the provision that if K was in possession at the end of the down, it was not PSK. That disappeared in 2008. So in 2007, this play is clearly not PSK because K is in possession at the end of the down. That's the way the PSK rule was intended. So why did this disppear in 2008?

Consider:

4th and 5 at the 50. K1's kick hits at the 20 where it is touched by K2. It bounces back to the 22 where K3 downs it. During the kick R1 held K4 at the 40. PSK, right? Mark it off from the end of the kick, which is the 22.

But under the 2007 rule, if K is in possession of the ball at the end of the down, it's not PSK. Since K3 had to possess the ball for the kick to become dead, by rule K was in possession at the end of the down! It would be previous spot and 1st down for K! That's clearly not what was intended by the PSK rule. So it came out. But the intent that the play we're discussing not be PSK remained. They assumed the new language covered that.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 27, 2009, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike L View Post
Not true. If R fouls after the touch or if there is an accepted penalty for a foul during the down, the touch goes away. You can't enforce the touch, and then proceed to something that would make the touch go away. In the OP, K accepting the penalty for R's foul makes the touch go away. You now have K next to put the ball in play due to the fumble recovery, so PSK goes away. So, in the end you have a previous spot enforcement. Of course K could decline the penalty and give the ball to R at the spot of first touching, but why would they?
It depends on what you mean by "makes the touch go away." As a spot for the next play and an option for R, it does go away, that's true.

But it does not go away for determining who will next put the ball in play. Hence the comment already quoted from Reddings: "Redding's Guide to NFHS Football by George Demetriou on pg 59: 'Team K may not keep possession, even if it recovers a muff or a fumble, as this is the price for having touched the ball too soon.'"

A post-possession foul by R means that they do not have the option of taking the ball at the spot of first touching. But first touching will still prevent K from getting possession during the down.

And that means that a pre-possession foul during this play is PSK.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 27, 2009, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
It depends on what you mean by "makes the touch go away." As a spot for the next play and an option for R, it does go away, that's true.

But it does not go away for determining who will next put the ball in play. Hence the comment already quoted from Reddings: "Redding's Guide to NFHS Football by George Demetriou on pg 59: 'Team K may not keep possession, even if it recovers a muff or a fumble, as this is the price for having touched the ball too soon.'"

A post-possession foul by R means that they do not have the option of taking the ball at the spot of first touching. But first touching will still prevent K from getting possession during the down.

And that means that a pre-possession foul during this play is PSK.
But that interp says NOTHING about an accepted foul that both the rules and the fundamentals say makes the touch go away! K will be next to put the ball in play because they've recovered the fumble. You can't say they won't because of the touch and then make the touch go away because of the foul. That is a completely illogical way to order how you are going to resolve the situation.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem

Last edited by Mike L; Thu Aug 27, 2009 at 12:55pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kick play DrMooreReferee Football 22 Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:24am
Kick Play Kirby Football 15 Wed Nov 08, 2006 05:57pm
another kick play MJT Football 12 Tue Aug 22, 2006 09:07pm
Quick kick play sj Football 3 Fri Jul 21, 2006 12:04pm
Scrimmage Kick Play with IW jack015 Football 18 Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:31am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1