The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 24, 2009, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 131
My schedule forces me to study NCAA rules more than NFHS, so I may be missing something because of the difference in PSK (compare NCAA 10-2-3-e to NFHS 2-16-2-h-5).

But the rules' clear language suggests that the flaw in Ppaltice's analysis is that K must accept the penalty to avoid R getting the ball at the first-touching spot. So when K accepts the penalty, R's right to take the ball at the first-touching spot is canceled:

"The right of R to take the ball at spot of first touching by K is canceled if . . . the penalty is accepted for any foul committed during the down." 6-2-5.

When the right to take the ball at the first-touching spot is canceled, K is the next to put the ball in play. Thus, no PSK enforcement.

There may exist an interpretation that mandates PSK in this instance, but I don't know of it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 24, 2009, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
This is not PSK

R is not in possession at the end of the down if the penalty is accepted so it cannot be PSK. The foul for R holding would be enforced from the previous spot as a loose ball foul. If the penalty is declined by K it will be R's ball at the spot of first touching. This is an interesting twist to see if there is a conflict between PSK and first touching.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 24, 2009, 06:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by insatty View Post
My schedule forces me to study NCAA rules more than NFHS, so I may be missing something because of the difference in PSK (compare NCAA 10-2-3-e to NFHS 2-16-2-h-5).

But the rules' clear language suggests that the flaw in Ppaltice's analysis is that K must accept the penalty to avoid R getting the ball at the first-touching spot. So when K accepts the penalty, R's right to take the ball at the first-touching spot is canceled:

"The right of R to take the ball at spot of first touching by K is canceled if . . . the penalty is accepted for any foul committed during the down." 6-2-5.

When the right to take the ball at the first-touching spot is canceled, K is the next to put the ball in play. Thus, no PSK enforcement.

There may exist an interpretation that mandates PSK in this instance, but I don't know of it.

This is how I interpreted it
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 25, 2009, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
What is your ruling on this:

PLAY1: 4th and 8 from K's 30. R33 holds K12 beyond the NZ during the kick. K20 falls on the untouched kick at R15 yard line.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 25, 2009, 09:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppaltice View Post
What is your ruling on this:

PLAY1: 4th and 8 from K's 30. R33 holds K12 beyond the NZ during the kick. K20 falls on the untouched kick at R15 yard line.
Garden variety PSK and first touching. Half the distance from R15, 1/10 for R at R7.5, snap.

Why is this play instructive? The complication of the OP comes from the turnover.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 25, 2009, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
Because in the OP with a turnover, you also have first touching. Why is one case of first touching "garden variety" and another ignored?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 25, 2009, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 58
The play you post is the very definition of PSK - R's foul occurs after the snap, beyond the NZ, before the kick ends, and R will be the team to put the ball into play.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 25, 2009, 09:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
"Because in the OP with a turnover, you also have first touching. Why is one case of first touching "garden variety" and another ignored?"

Because the play is over when K secured possession of the kick in example 2. In the original play there was only first touching and the play continued.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kick play DrMooreReferee Football 22 Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:24am
Kick Play Kirby Football 15 Wed Nov 08, 2006 05:57pm
another kick play MJT Football 12 Tue Aug 22, 2006 09:07pm
Quick kick play sj Football 3 Fri Jul 21, 2006 12:04pm
Scrimmage Kick Play with IW jack015 Football 18 Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:31am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1