![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Do we all agree that in the OP, if R did not foul, R could take the ball at the spot of first touching from Rule 6-2-5? I think the confusion is the 'live ball penalty accepted' part, is that right? You are wanting to say the holding by R negates the first touching, which then makes 'K the next to put the ball in play' which negates the requirements for a PSK foul. I believe that is the confusion, which is why I put in the second example. If you follow this logic in the second 'garden variety' example, you would say that we are accepting the foul, negating K's first touching. K has possession of the ball so we don't have a PSK foul. This is absurd. The real answer is that R has the right to put the ball into play at the spot of first touching, so K will not be the next to put the ball into play. All of the criteria for a PSK foul is met, so the holding foul will be penalized using PSK foul enforcement. Now look at the OP. The same answer applies. Exact same answer. My request is that instead of blowing off the alternate example by stating it is 'garden variety,' that you explain why the hold is enforced as PSK foul and USE THE SAME LOGIC to explain why the OP is not a PSK foul. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I think that the confusion comes from how you're handling first touching. According to 2-16-6, "Game situations which produce results somewhat similar to penalties, but which are not classified as fouls are: disqualification of a player, first touching of a kick by K and forfeiture of a game." The way that you're treating first touching, it seems to negate the turnover. That would make the case easy, because then all of the PSK criteria apply to the foul by R. Others seem to think that the negating goes the other way: by turning the ball over, the first touching is negated. Can you cite a rule or case to justify your ruling? For my part, I'm not sure how to square 5-1-3 f & g.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Case 6.2.5A K1 attempts to down a punt beyond the neutral zone, but his touching only slows it down. The bouncing ball is subsequently recovered by R1 who advances 25 yards but then fumbles and K2 recovers. K2 is immediately tackled. Ruling: R may take the results of the play or retain possession by taking the ball at the spot of first touching. R can exercise this option, unless after R1 touches the ball, R commits a foul or the penalty is accepted for any foul committed during the down. Reading Redding's Guide to NFHS Football by George Demetriou on pg 59: 'Team K may not keep possession, even if it recovers a muff or a fumble, as this is the price for having touched the ball too soon.' So, if during a kick we have first touching by K, recovery by R, fumble by R, recovery by K, then R can take the ball at first touching as long as R does not commit a foul after they legally touch (i.e. not forced touching) the kick. This is supported by the Case book and Redding's guide. |
|
|||
|
But if K accepts the penalty, the first touch goes away per your own rule cite. There is now an accepted penalty for a foul during the down.
I have yet to see anyone cite a casebook or Reddings example that talks about a kick, R-foul, K-touch, R-fumble, K-in possession at the end play.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem Last edited by Mike L; Wed Aug 26, 2009 at 11:27am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
"The right of R to take the ball at spot of firstWhat exactly is canceled: the right of R to the ball, or the right of R to take the ball at the spot of first touching? I would argue that it's the latter: a PSK penalty will be marched off from the spot of first touching, and R keeps the ball.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Here's the way I read the rule: The right of R to take the ball at spot of 1st touch is cancelled if: 1) R touches the kick and thereafter during the down commits a foul or 2) the penalty is accepted for any foul committed during the down.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem Last edited by Mike L; Wed Aug 26, 2009 at 02:54pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Once K is guilty of first touching, R will put the ball in play next no matter what happens during the return (muff, fumble, etc.). That's pretty straightforward.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
What none of the cases that you provide as examples have is a foul by R during the kick. Without the foul the examples are correct. But with the foul as stated in the OP, if K accepts the penalty for the hold the first touching by K is ignored per rule 6-2-5. Without first touching, K is the next to snap the ball, therefore no PSK enforcement. Since the foul is a loose ball foul the enforcement spot is the previous spot. The result is K’s ball 1-10 at K’s 40. If K declines the penalty it is R’s ball at the spot of first touching. Lesson for R is if you commit a foul during a scrimmage kick don’t lose possession of the ball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Since first touching by K gives R a (nearly irrevocable) right to the ball, the pre-possession foul by R in the OP will be PSK. Thanks for helping to sort this out.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| kick play | DrMooreReferee | Football | 22 | Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:24am |
| Kick Play | Kirby | Football | 15 | Wed Nov 08, 2006 05:57pm |
| another kick play | MJT | Football | 12 | Tue Aug 22, 2006 09:07pm |
| Quick kick play | sj | Football | 3 | Fri Jul 21, 2006 12:04pm |
| Scrimmage Kick Play with IW | jack015 | Football | 18 | Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:31am |