![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I stand corrected!
For those of you who sent me Private messages telling me I am wasting my time even responding to this guy, you were right, I was wrong. And, as one of you so eliquently coined a conclusive phrase that most certainly bears repeating: AJMC is a Legend in his own mind! -Nuff Said ![]() "Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I asked for your reasoning, besides, "someone else told me that's what the words mean (as least as they choose to understand", which really doesn't say a whole lot to defend your interpretation. Especially after you, and maybe even some of those who sent you private messages, acknowledge that even though your interpretation doesn't make any sense, you're going to go with it anyway. I agree "Knowledge is good" but you also might consider, "Knowledge has no value until you use it, or share it". Thus far, you've chosen to do neither. Barking about it doesn't count. |
|
|||
|
don't mean to dredge anything up, but I was reading older threads.
PLAY: A22 is running a sweep. He fumbles forward, the ball bounces in bounds, crosses the sideine in the air. B55 (who'd started legally on defense but is now standing OOB) bats the ball backwards to teammate B50. Dead ball. Team A gets it at the spot of the fumble. But if B55 has the presence of mind to JUMP just before he bats it, it's Team B's ball then? (If so, I"ll have to file this one away, b/c I'm sure that before this thread I'd have ruled that the ball was touched OOB and therefore dead.) Follow up question: even though he's in the air beyond the sideline, is B55 still governed by the same rule about batting a loose ball? That is, if he he bats it forward, is it a penalty? [ncaa rules] |
|
|||
|
It's the same arguement as above. If you think he's inbounds by rule, treat it the same as if he were standing in the middle of the field. If you think he's out of bounds, rule it that way. When he jumps, I say he's out of bounds but other say he's inbounds. Pick which one you're comfortable with and go with that.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I agree on that. Howeve, the substance of the thread was the status of a person who is out of bounds (after having touched the ground out of bounds) and then jumps in the air while still wide of the sideline. Is he in, is he out or is he neither? There are plenty of arguements to review and consider in the six pages of responses. |
|
|||
|
Ah. See your point.
Well, "you are where you were till you get where you're going." He's out until he's not, and being in the air isn't sufficient to change his status going either direction.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Wouldn't argue with your above statement, but that's NOT the problem. The problem, causing all the agita, is the interpretation that a player who has clearly stepped (stomped or laid down) out of bounds (OOB), on his own, can somehow revert back to NOT being OOB, by simply jumping up into the air, even though doing so while remaining outside the field of play, and therefore can legally participate in play from his airborne position, because while in the air, he's, "not touching anything".
|
|
|||
|
Alf-
We all clearly understand your point, and I am beyond certain however you will repeat it 7 more times! However, the play in the OP and the play in the Redding Study Guide were discussed at the NFHS Rules Interpreters Meeting in Indy on July 14th. These plays are legal as the player involved was not, by definition, out of bounds! If you need further clarification, you should contact your association and/or state rules interpreter. Nuff said!
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Tags |
| alf rides again, alf's english lesson, illegal participation, reading comprehension 101, totally stupic |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| illegal Substitution or illegal Participation | verticalStripes | Football | 11 | Fri Sep 12, 2008 10:57am |
| Reddings Study Guide | JFlores | Football | 8 | Thu Sep 04, 2008 10:00am |
| Illegal Participation, Illegal Touching, Nothing | BoBo | Football | 13 | Thu Nov 01, 2007 02:09pm |
| Woohoo - Reddings Guide came today | HLin NC | Football | 4 | Fri Jun 01, 2007 07:11am |
| Illegal Formation or Illegal participation? | wgw | Football | 9 | Mon Aug 29, 2005 09:31am |