The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianola, Ia
Posts: 319
Illegal Participation, Illegal Touching, Nothing

Just feel like throwing out crazy plays at everybody today.

Fed Rules please (if other please note)
4th and 8 from B's48

K punts the ball towards the sideline.

The ball is going to be downed inside B's 5 yard line near the sideline.

K22 is the gunner and is going to down the ball. As the ball is bouncing K22 has unknowingly stepped out of bounds at the 4 and then steps inbounds at the 2 to down the punt at 1 yard line.

Are you going to have a flag at the B's 2 yard line for illegal participation?

Is this now considered illegal touching? Or some other violation or foul?

Or do you just let it go?
__________________
"Call what you see and see what you call!"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 03:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoBo
Just feel like throwing out crazy plays at everybody today.

Fed Rules please (if other please note)
4th and 8 from B's48

K punts the ball towards the sideline.

The ball is going to be downed inside B's 5 yard line near the sideline.

K22 is the gunner and is going to down the ball. As the ball is bouncing K22 has unknowingly stepped out of bounds at the 4 and then steps inbounds at the 2 to down the punt at 1 yard line.

Are you going to have a flag at the B's 2 yard line for illegal participation?

Is this now considered illegal touching? Or some other violation or foul?

Or do you just let it go?
REPLY:

Are you going to have a flag at the B's 2 yard line for illegal participation? YES...Spot of the foul is B's 2, but since it occurred during a legal kick play, enforcement will be from the previous spot. Replay 4th down (4/23 from A's 37, if I did the math right)

Is this now considered illegal touching? It is first touching (called 'illegal' touching in NCAA). So B could have theball at their own 1, though doing so would be insanity. Better to penalize A and make them replay 4th down.

Or some other violation or foul? Nothing else

Or do you just let it go? I wouldn't
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianola, Ia
Posts: 319
Bob since you are the only one who has replied so far; does he clearly have to leave the field for you to call this. what if he is say shuffling along side the ball and part of his feet are on the line and part are outside the line.

I guess just how particular are you going to be on this type of play.

Just curious as to how close people will call it.

I am sure some will miss the call because you will be so focused on the ball and touching.
__________________
"Call what you see and see what you call!"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 03:15pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoBo
Just feel like throwing out crazy plays at everybody today.

Fed Rules please (if other please note)
4th and 8 from B's48

K punts the ball towards the sideline.

The ball is going to be downed inside B's 5 yard line near the sideline.

K22 is the gunner and is going to down the ball. As the ball is bouncing K22 has unknowingly stepped out of bounds at the 4 and then steps inbounds at the 2 to down the punt at 1 yard line.

Are you going to have a flag at the B's 2 yard line for illegal participation?

Is this now considered illegal touching? Or some other violation or foul?

Or do you just let it go?
CANADIAN RULING:

There are 4 ways to have been OOB legally:
  • a player was blocked to OOB
  • a player tried to block someone, missed, and subsequently ended up OOB
  • slipped to OOB
  • stepped OOB to field a punt or kick-off
There is no indication that any of those events caused K22 to be OOB, so I do have a flag for IP.

If K22 was:
  • offside:
    • Illegal recovery: Restraining Zone flag. Since both the IP (10y) and RZ (15y) are minor fouls, R has to choose which to apply. The R shouldn't even ask, so it'll be R 1D/10 @ R-16.
  • onside:
    • legal recovery, but the IP is still applied: K 1D/10 @ R-11.
__________________
Pope Francis

Last edited by JugglingReferee; Wed Oct 31, 2007 at 03:18pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 03:17pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoBo
Bob since you are the only one who has replied so far; does he clearly have to leave the field for you to call this. what if he is say shuffling along side the ball and part of his feet are on the line and part are outside the line.

I guess just how particular are you going to be on this type of play.

Just curious as to how close people will call it.

I am sure some will miss the call because you will be so focused on the ball and touching.
I'm sure that Team R players play with the intent of staying within the boundaries. Of course you penalize K for being any amount OOB.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 03:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: If his foot just grazed 'white,' I might not call it. But if he clearly steps OOB--particularly if he's avoiding a blocker in so doing--I think you have to flag it.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianola, Ia
Posts: 319
agreed
__________________
"Call what you see and see what you call!"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 04:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 102
If K is blocked out @ the 4 instead of going out on his own its nothing right?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 415
Right. He just has to come back in as soon as possible.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 07:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
And what if the K player is still out of bounds when he touches the ball?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 08:50pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltjp
And what if the K player is still out of bounds when he touches the ball?
The ball would to be dead under any rule set. I would think it also has to be an IP flag - possibly for coming inbounds immediatley (sp?) to play the ball.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 01, 2007, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 321
If he's still OOB and touches the ball, you have nothing except a dead ball. He never returned to the field so you can't have IP. By rule, if the ball touches a player who is OOB, the ball is dead OOB at that spot.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 01, 2007, 01:03pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by wisref2
If he's still OOB and touches the ball, you have nothing except a dead ball. He never returned to the field so you can't have IP. By rule, if the ball touches a player who is OOB, the ball is dead OOB at that spot.
Good point. I missed that. Seems kinda unfair to me.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 01, 2007, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
There was a similar discussion recently (Can't recall if it was here of another forum) about an offensive player who fumbled just before going out of bounds and whether it was IP if he touched the ball in an attempt to recover the fumble while he was OOB and the ball was in bounds.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
illegal Substitution or illegal Participation verticalStripes Football 11 Fri Sep 12, 2008 10:57am
Illegal participation? jodibuck Football 2 Tue Aug 28, 2007 07:21am
Illegal Participation Simbio Football 3 Tue Aug 15, 2006 03:47pm
Illegal Formation or Illegal participation? wgw Football 9 Mon Aug 29, 2005 09:31am
Illegal Participation dumbref Football 5 Mon Nov 03, 2003 10:12am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1