![]() |
|
|
|||
new one, but my guess is problem with the text
Rule 10-2-2-d states that the basic spot of enforcement for pass plays is the previous spot EXCEPT
bla bla bla 2. Roughing-the-passer enforcement on a completed forward pass from the end of the last run when that run ends beyond the neutral zone and there is no change of team possession during the down. My guess is that it should read like this 2. Roughing-the-passer enforcement on a completed forward pass IS from the end of the last run when that run ends beyond the neutral zone and there is no change of team possession during the down. Did I get this right? |
|
|||
also
this may be just the late hours so forgive me if I sound stupid but
how is Rule 10-2-2-d Exception 4 an exception? I mean, the text of it says Enforcement penalties for facemask, (...) occuring behind the neutral zone by the offensive team from the previous spot. Didn't d just say that the enforcement on pass plays is from the previous spot??? I think I should stop with the work for today and get some rest while waiting for some help... |
|
|||
Quote:
The reason for exception 4 is the embedded exception to the exception, i.e. the part about awarding the safety, but I agree that when you first read it, it looks like it is repeating itself ![]()
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum! |
|
|||
Quote:
Ok... got it... although it's written all over the rules that whenever a foul is commited by the offense, behind Team A's goaline it is a safety. But I got it. Thanks |
|
|||
Indeed, that same piece is repeated all over the Rule Book. It certainly is time for the book to have a major rewrite so that things like that only need to be written once. You must be tired of translating the same bit of English over and over again into Portuguese!
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum! |
|
|||
now on the ARs
7-1-3-XII
A30, lined up legally as a back, starts in motion legally. He then turns so that he still is legally in motion but is facing his line of scrimmage using a “side-step” motion. At the snap, A30 is bent slightly forward at the waist and is either continuing his “side-step” motion or is “marking time” in place. RULING: Legal. What is "marking time"???? |
|
|||
I would say that "Marking time" is an expression more used in America than England.
The English term would be "Running on the spot". His legs are still going up and down, but he isn't actually moving anywhere. Like when soldiers are marching on the parade ground and then they stop going forward, but their legs are still making the marching action.
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum! |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
AAU Issues | AZ_REF | Basketball | 20 | Mon Apr 09, 2007 10:09pm |
Money issues | Ohioref3 | Football | 5 | Fri Nov 11, 2005 05:26pm |
2 issues | PSU213 | Football | 2 | Sat Sep 18, 2004 02:02pm |
Two issues | MOFFICIAL | Basketball | 5 | Fri Jan 09, 2004 07:45pm |
Translation Please | APHP | Basketball | 11 | Tue Jan 29, 2002 09:35am |