View Single Post
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 09, 2009, 02:57pm
With_Two_Flakes With_Two_Flakes is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvasques View Post
this may be just the late hours so forgive me if I sound stupid but

how is Rule 10-2-2-d Exception 4 an exception?

I mean, the text of it says

Enforcement penalties for facemask, (...) occuring behind the neutral zone by the offensive team from the previous spot.

Didn't d just say that the enforcement on pass plays is from the previous spot???

I think I should stop with the work for today and get some rest while waiting for some help...
If 10-2-2-d-4 was not there, then you would not award a safety for those listed fouls when they occured in Team A's EndZone. Instead you would enforce from the Previous spot.

The reason for exception 4 is the embedded exception to the exception, i.e. the part about awarding the safety, but I agree that when you first read it, it looks like it is repeating itself
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum!
Reply With Quote