![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
2.15.1 SITUATION: It is first and 10 for A at B’s 12-yard line. A1 sprints near the end line and then buttonhooks. He jumps and possesses a forward pass while in the air above the end zone. (a) A1’s momentum carries him back into the field of play and he lands and is downed on the 1-yard line; or (b) while in the air in the end zone, he is contacted by B1 and he then lands and is downed on B’s 2-yard line. RULING: In (a), it is A’s ball first and goal at B’s 1-yard line. In (b), it is a touchdown if the covering official judges the contact by B1 is the cause of A1 coming down at the 2-yard line, instead of in the end zone. (2-4-1) In your play, B simply pushes the WR back into the field of play and lands on his feet, correct? Since the WR was not wrapped up or controled by the B player, he is still free to advance thus progress not stopped.
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at http://resources.refstripes.com If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Forward Progress | dumbref | Football | 5 | Fri Sep 05, 2008 01:38pm |
| Forward Progress | AZ_REF | Football | 15 | Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:13pm |
| FORWARD PROGRESS | MRIGUY | Football | 3 | Tue Sep 28, 2004 12:43pm |
| Clarification of 'Forward Progress' | WyMike | Football | 1 | Wed Sep 08, 2004 12:55pm |
| Forward Progress | JMN | Football | 11 | Sun Jan 26, 2003 12:52pm |