Quote:
Originally Posted by PackersFTW
if the receiver catches the ball in the air at the other team's 9 yard line, but lands both feet down on the 10 yard line. is forward progress given at the 9, or is it at the 10? i would think at the 10, because when you catch a ball in the air, it's not a complete catch yet, you have to establish yourself on the ground, right? i saw a call in the eagles game where this happpened. it wasn't important at all, but he caught it about a yard and a half past the 1st down line, but landed right on the 1st down line, and they spotted it where he caught it in the air, not where he landed after the catch.
|
There are two separate principles involved in your question. Forward Progress and completing a catch, that don't always happen at the same time, or at the same spot. A receiver can secure possession of a ball while in the air, and forward progress will be considered the farthest point the ball has progressed, towards the opponent's goal line while possessed, however the "catch" will not be completed until one, or both feet (depending on rules code) touch down inbounds while possession of the ball is maintained.
Consider the goal line. If an airborne player possesses a ball that breaks the plane of the goal line, but is subsequently knocked back so that his first contact with the ground is back within the field of play, although the "catch" is not complete until he touches down, once he does and maintains possession, the forward progress would result in a TD.