![]() |
|
|
|||
Kasay: Can a Kicker Re-set?
In the Carolina game last night on the last second FG attempt K Kasay started forward before the snap , stopped, then kicked after the snap.
Is this legal? Can certain positions re-set without penalty? |
|
|||
If it "simulated action at the snap," could you flag it?
(Standard disclaimers about NFL rules vs. our rules, etc. etc. etc.)
__________________
"And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever. |
|
|||
Any A player can shift, as long as they come to a complete stop for 1 second prior to the snap, and they have not placed their hands on or near the ground yet. I think for NCAA it is below the knees though. Actually, that isn't entirely accurate, as the rules say anyone can shift, but that a player with his hand at or near the ground will false start if they bring them up.
All 11 of them can go out, line up in a formation, then all 11 can shift to a new formation. More commonly, the interior lineman can certainly shift from an "up" position to a down position, for example. |
|
|||
This brings up something I never thought of before. I didn't see the play but based on the description, there is no foul here. If he did that and stopped but another player started in motion within a second of him stopping, you would have an illegal motion penalty (not all players were set for 1 second before the player went in motion).
This makes me wonder though...if the kicker starts forward before the snap and is still moving forward at the snap, you technically have an illegal motion. I can't imagine anyone would ever flag that because he is not gaining any kind of an advantage (unless they run a fake and he's getting a head start on going downfield). |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
AR 7-1-4-IV After the Team A players have stopped for one second, end A88 runs wide and stops, and before one second elapses, back A36 starts moving backward. RULING: Legal. I can't find anything in the NFHS book that makes me think the Fed is any different to NCAA, but I'm no High School Rules expert, so happy to defer to the other side of the Pond on that one......
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Clarification of what makes a kicker a kicker... | sloth | Football | 9 | Mon Jul 02, 2007 09:48am |
Roughing the Kicker | jlawyer55 | Football | 5 | Sun Oct 23, 2005 05:54pm |
Roughing the Kicker | New AZ Ref | Football | 5 | Fri Oct 07, 2005 02:19pm |
Roughing the kicker | Texoma_LJ | Football | 5 | Wed Oct 06, 2004 08:29am |
When does a kicker become a runner? | Ed Hickland | Football | 6 | Mon Nov 12, 2001 01:08pm |