The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 11, 2001, 06:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Question

This week team A in scrimmage kick formation. Ball snapped to A33 goes over his head. A33 reaches for ball and tips it just enough to slow it down. He then turns around with his back to the LOS, runs about 5 yards and picks up the ball.

Having retrieved the ball he turns as if to run. B73 targeting A33 for a tackle goes to tackle A33 just as he stops and kicks the ball for a good 30 yard punt with B73 strecthed across his body. Just as the punt gets off they both hit the ground.

Team A coach is livid. "That should have been roughing the kicker, the rules interpreter said any time you touch the kicker it is either running into or roughing," he shouts.

Response, your kicker was acting as a runner and was eligible to be tackled.

Later on looking at the rulebook and casebook that is covered by NFHS 9-4-4 and casebook situation 9.4.4 Situation B.

Comments?
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1