![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Snapper snaps the ball over the head of the punter who turns and runs back to get the ball. With his back turned he retrieves it and begins to turn around. Just as he lines up and sets to kick a defensive linesman smothers him and he still managed to get the kick off with the defensive player literally hanging off his leg. K's coach is livid. You cannot touch the punter, he said. Remember, "if a kick is apparent" and since the punter was running backwards, a kick is no longer apparent. The punter is now a runner and can be tackled. However, as long as he remains behind the line of scrimmage he can still kick, albeit, without protection. My answer to the coach was your punter lost his protection once he had to retrieve the ball, as it was no longer apparent he was going to kick. Pressure on kickers and punters requires more than a knowledge of the rulebook. You have to judge intent. When the punter started to run he was thinking about where to run or maybe hide with the ball; but, he still wanted to kick. The defender saw a chance to make a tackle in the backfield on a scrambling punter. But, if the defender saw the punter was going to kick -- and in this case that was not true -- the defender has the responsibility to avoid contact. What is the correct call? It is what you as the referee judged. Each play will be different and you must be prepared and concentrate on the play. |
Bookmarks |
|
|